Volt & Velo

Best Long-Range E-Bikes

Range is the spec the value bracket exaggerates most. These are the four biggest batteries under $1,500 — ranked on watt-hours, with the planning figure that tells you what you will actually get.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Every listing in this category prints a range number, and almost none of them are achievable. “Up to 68 miles” means a light rider, on assist level one, on flat pavement, in still air, pedaling the whole way. It is not a lie so much as a laboratory result, and it is useless for deciding whether a bike covers your commute.

So this page ranks on the one number that cannot be spun: battery watt-hours. Watt-hours are energy in the tank. Multiply them by nothing, divide them by how hard you ride, and you have a planning figure you can trust. Four bikes here, from 1,040 Wh down to 614 Wh — every one of them under $1,500, and every one of them with the claimed number and the realistic number stated side by side.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, price and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

A 52 V 20 Ah pack works out to 1,040 Wh — the largest battery in this registry, on a folding 20x4 fat-tire frame with front and rear suspension, for about $700. It is heavy, the frame is a conventional folder rather than a low step-through, and no weight is published; what you are buying is watt-hours and torque per dollar, and on that measure nothing here is close.

Longest range overall
$699.99 · View on Amazon

$749.007% off

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

A 20-inch folding fat-tire bike with a switchable class and a 614 Wh battery, aimed at riders who want one bike that legally adapts to where they ride. The claimed 62-mile range is optimistic, but the switchable Class 1/2/3 is a genuinely useful feature at this price.

Best range with a class switch
$688.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of August 31, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3

Heybike Ranger S

A step up from the Mars: the Ranger S pairs a 750 W motor with a larger 692 Wh UL-certified battery and dual suspension, aimed at riders who want more range and comfort out of a folding fat-tire bike. On Amazon it's one of the stronger sub-$1,300 picks.

Longest-range folder
4

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

Most efficient

The picks in full

#1Longest range overall

SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

A 52 V 20 Ah pack works out to 1,040 Wh — the largest battery in this registry, on a folding 20x4 fat-tire frame with front and rear suspension, for about $700. It is heavy, the frame is a conventional folder rather than a low step-through, and no weight is published; what you are buying is watt-hours and torque per dollar, and on that measure nothing here is close.

What you get

  • 1,040 Wh (52 V x 20 Ah) — the biggest published capacity we list
  • 96 N-m of torque from a 750 W rated / 1500 W peak motor, with 7-speed gearing for climbs
  • Front and rear suspension plus 20x4 tires — unusual at this price
  • UL 2849 certified electrical system and an IPX6-rated, lockable battery compartment

Trade-offs

  • SASIKEIBIKE publishes no weight, and a 1,040 Wh folding fat-tire bike will not be light
  • The frame is a conventional folder, not a low step-through
  • No e-bike class is stated on the listing
  • A 6-8 hour full charge is slow, which is the price of the big pack
Rated motor750 W
Battery1040 Wh
Claimed range40-70 mi (pedal assist)
Top assisted speedNot published
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best range with a class switch

Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

A 20-inch folding fat-tire bike with a switchable class and a 614 Wh battery, aimed at riders who want one bike that legally adapts to where they ride. The claimed 62-mile range is optimistic, but the switchable Class 1/2/3 is a genuinely useful feature at this price.

What you get

  • Switchable Class 1/2/3 to stay legal on different paths
  • 614 Wh battery and a claimed 62-mile range
  • Step-through fat-tire folder is versatile and comfortable

Trade-offs

  • Aipas doesn't publish a weight
  • Peak vs rated wattage is described inconsistently in listings
  • A less-established brand than GoTrax or Heybike
Rated motor750 W
Battery614 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 62 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
WeightNot published
ClassClass 1/2/3 (selectable)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Longest-range folder

Heybike Ranger S

A step up from the Mars: the Ranger S pairs a 750 W motor with a larger 692 Wh UL-certified battery and dual suspension, aimed at riders who want more range and comfort out of a folding fat-tire bike. On Amazon it's one of the stronger sub-$1,300 picks.

What you get

  • 692 Wh UL-certified battery for a claimed 55-mile range
  • Suspension and 20x4 tires make rough roads comfortable
  • Folds for storage and transport

Trade-offs

  • ~72 lb — heavy to lift despite folding
  • A 1000 W version exists; confirm the trim you're buying
  • Fenders and rack are extras on some configurations
Rated motor750 W
Battery692 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 55 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
Weight72 lb
ClassClass 3 (750 W version)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Most efficient

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

What you get

  • 672 Wh battery supports a claimed 60-mile range
  • Torque sensor delivers smoother, more natural assist than cheap cadence sensors
  • Selectable Class 1/2/3 lets you run it legally where you ride

Trade-offs

  • Skinnier tires mean less cushion than a fat-tire model
  • Original F3 used a smaller battery — confirm you're getting the current 2.0
  • 28 mph assist is Class 3, which is barred from some paths
Rated motor500 W
Battery672 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 60 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
Weight58.3 lb
ClassClass 1/2/3 (selectable, torque sensor)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we picked

Battery watt-hours decided the order, because energy capacity is the only range input a manufacturer cannot present flatteringly. After that came efficiency— tire width, weight and sensor type change how many watt-hours a mile actually costs, which is why the 672 Wh bike on this page can outlast the 692 Wh one in the right conditions. Then certification and trim clarity: a big pack is only good news if the listing tells you which pack you are buying. We have not ridden every one of these; this is exactly what we do instead.

Watt-hours, and the number that turns them into miles

A watt-hour is one watt drawn for one hour. Your battery’s capacity is volts multiplied by amp-hours — a 48 V, 20 Ah pack is 960 Wh. That is the whole tank. What decides your range is how many watt-hours each mile costs you, and that varies more than most buyers expect:

  • 10–15 Wh per mile— pedaling genuinely, low assist, city tires, flat ground.
  • 20 Wh per mile— our standard planning figure for throttle-heavy riding on fat tires. Use this one unless you know you ride differently.
  • 25–30 Wh per mile— throttle only, a heavier rider, hills, headwind, cold weather, or all of them at once.

Run the four bikes here through the 20 Wh figure and the picture gets honest fast. The SASIKEIBIKE’s 1,040 Wh gives roughly 52 miles. The Heybike Ranger S’s 692 Wh gives roughly 35, the GoTrax F3’s 672 Wh roughly 34, and the Aipas A2’s 614 Wh roughly 31. Their claimed figures are 70, 55, 60 and 62 miles respectively. Both sets of numbers are on the listings; only one of them is a planning figure. Our range guide works through how to measure your own watt-hours per mile in a week of ordinary riding.

Efficiency is the half of range nobody advertises

Two bikes with the same battery can differ by a third in real range, and the reasons are physical rather than mysterious.

Tire width and pressure.A 4-inch fat tire at 15 psi has a large contact patch and high rolling resistance. The same bike on city tires at 45 psi uses noticeably fewer watt-hours per mile. It is the single biggest efficiency lever you control, and it is free — see our tire pressure guide.

Sensor type. A cadence sensor delivers a fixed amount of power the moment the pedals turn, whether you need it or not. A torque sensor delivers power in proportion to your effort, which means it stops spending watt-hours the instant you stop working. That is why the F3, the lightest and only torque-sensor bike here, punches above its capacity.

Weight and speed.Air resistance rises with the square of speed, so a Class 3 bike cruising at 28 mph burns dramatically more per mile than the same bike at 18. If range is your priority, the cheapest thing you can do is ride slightly slower.

Two batteries or one big one?

Once you are over about 700 Wh, a second battery often beats a bigger one. A spare pack is dead weight you leave at home on short days and carry on long ones, it charges while the first is in use, and it gives you a fallback when the original pack ages out in a few years. A single enormous pack is simpler, but it is also a single point of failure and it is heavy on every ride, including the three-mile ones.

The catch is compatibility: a replacement or range-extender pack has to match your bike’s voltage, connector and mount, and a mismatched charger is a genuine fire risk rather than a theoretical one. Our battery roundup covers what to match and which certification to insist on.

Check the trim before you buy

More than any other spec, battery capacity varies inside a single model name. The Heybike and GoTrax ranges have both had smaller-battery versions in circulation, and the Aipas A2 describes peak and rated wattage inconsistently between listings. The battery number in the title is not always the battery in the box for the variant you selected — a lesson the now-discontinued Sohamo S3, sold under one name in both 720 Wh and 960 Wh trims, taught this bracket the hard way.

Before you check out, confirm three things on the listing: the watt-hours or the volts and amp-hours for the exact variant in your cart, whether the pack carries UL 2271 or UL 2849 certification, and whether a second battery is available for that model at all. If a listing quotes only “big capacity” and a mileage claim, treat the mileage claim as marketing and move on.

Frequently asked questions

What is the longest-range e-bike under $1,500?

By battery capacity, the SASIKEIBIKE 20-inch folding fat-tire bike is the largest pack on this page: 52 V x 20 Ah is 1,040 Wh, or roughly 52 miles at our 20 Wh-per-mile planning figure, against a claimed 70. Capacity is what you should compare, because it is the one range input a manufacturer cannot present flatteringly.

What happened to the Sohamo S3?

It is discontinued. As of August 2026 both Amazon S3 listings return 'Currently unavailable' and a catalog search for the SOHAMO brand returns no SOHAMO product at all — the brand has left Amazon. We have kept our S3 review online with a discontinuation notice, and the biggest-battery pick is now the SASIKEIBIKE 20-inch folding fat-tire bike at 1,040 Wh.

How do I work out an e-bike's real range?

Divide battery watt-hours by your watt-hours per mile. Use 20 Wh per mile for throttle-heavy riding on fat tires, 10 to 15 if you genuinely pedal on low assist with city tires, and 25 to 30 for throttle-only riding, hills, cold or a heavier rider. A 720 Wh battery at 20 Wh per mile is about 36 miles.

Why is my e-bike's range so much lower than advertised?

Advertised range is measured in the most favorable possible conditions: light rider, lowest assist, flat ground, no wind, constant pedaling. Add hills, a headwind, cold weather, low tire pressure or throttle use and you can halve it. None of that is a fault — it is the difference between a lab figure and a planning figure.

Does cold weather reduce e-bike range?

Yes, significantly. Lithium cells deliver less usable capacity when cold, and you will also be pushing through denser air in heavier clothing. Expect a meaningful reduction below freezing, store the battery indoors, and charge it at room temperature rather than in an unheated garage.

Is a second battery better than a bigger battery?

Often, above about 700 Wh. A spare pack stays home on short rides instead of being carried, charges while the other is in use, and gives you a replacement path when the first ages. The requirement is that it matches your bike's voltage, connector and mount exactly — and that you charge it with the charger it was sold with.

Sources

Keep reading