Volt & Velo

Best E-Bikes Under $2,000

The bracket above our usual ceiling — what the extra money actually buys, which bikes are worth it, and why most of what Amazon sells between $1,300 and $2,000 is not a legal e-bike at all.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

This site is built around a $1,500 ceiling, so a page about the next bracket up owes you an explanation rather than a list. Here it is: on Amazon, the money between $1,300 and $2,000 mostly does not buy a better e-bike. It buys one of two other things — a thinly-stocked unknown brand, or a 4,000 watt machine doing 38 mph that is not a legal Class 1, 2 or 3 e-bike at all and cannot be ridden where you want to ride it.

So the picks below are ranked on three things in order: is it actually a legal e-bike, then what the extra money buys that you can point at — watt-hours, a safety listing, a torque sensor — and only then price. One of them costs about $1,200 and earns it. Three of them cost well under $800, and the honest finding of this page is that they are hard to beat with another $1,000.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, price and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

A 52 V 20 Ah pack works out to 1,040 Wh — the largest battery in this registry, on a folding 20x4 fat-tire frame with front and rear suspension, for about $700. It is heavy, the frame is a conventional folder rather than a low step-through, and no weight is published; what you are buying is watt-hours and torque per dollar, and on that measure nothing here is close.

Best overall under $2,000
$699.99 · View on Amazon

$749.007% off

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

The commuter-kit bike of the value bracket: UL 2849 certification on the whole electrical system, real turn signals and a brake light, a 528 Wh removable pack and assist to 28 mph, for under $600. The battery is mid-sized rather than huge, so buy this one for the equipment and the certification rather than for the range.

Best commuter
$609.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Heybike Mars 3.0

Heybike Mars 3.0

The genuine step-up in this bracket, and the only bike here with a torque sensor: assist that scales with how hard you pedal rather than switching on and off. Full suspension, a 624 Wh pack, both UL listings and a 440 lb load rating. What Heybike will not tell you is the top speed or the class, and the Amazon listing claims 32 mph — above the Class 3 ceiling — so ask before you ride it on a path.

Best step-up if you spend the money
$1,199.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

A 20-inch folding fat-tire bike with a switchable class and a 614 Wh battery, aimed at riders who want one bike that legally adapts to where they ride. The claimed 62-mile range is optimistic, but the switchable Class 1/2/3 is a genuinely useful feature at this price.

Best for path and road legality
$688.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 3, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall under $2,000

SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

A 52 V 20 Ah pack works out to 1,040 Wh — the largest battery in this registry, on a folding 20x4 fat-tire frame with front and rear suspension, for about $700. It is heavy, the frame is a conventional folder rather than a low step-through, and no weight is published; what you are buying is watt-hours and torque per dollar, and on that measure nothing here is close.

What you get

  • 1,040 Wh (52 V x 20 Ah) — the biggest published capacity we list
  • 96 N-m of torque from a 750 W rated / 1500 W peak motor, with 7-speed gearing for climbs
  • Front and rear suspension plus 20x4 tires — unusual at this price
  • UL 2849 certified electrical system and an IPX6-rated, lockable battery compartment

Trade-offs

  • SASIKEIBIKE publishes no weight, and a 1,040 Wh folding fat-tire bike will not be light
  • The frame is a conventional folder, not a low step-through
  • No e-bike class is stated on the listing
  • A 6-8 hour full charge is slow, which is the price of the big pack
Rated motor750 W
Battery1040 Wh
Claimed range40-70 mi (pedal assist)
Top assisted speedNot published
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best commuter

Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

The commuter-kit bike of the value bracket: UL 2849 certification on the whole electrical system, real turn signals and a brake light, a 528 Wh removable pack and assist to 28 mph, for under $600. The battery is mid-sized rather than huge, so buy this one for the equipment and the certification rather than for the range.

What you get

  • UL 2849 certification on the full electrical system — still uncommon this cheap
  • Turn signals, brake light and front light fitted as standard, not sold as extras
  • 528 Wh removable pack, IPX-6 rated and key-locked to the frame
  • 7-speed with 26-inch wheels and an 80 mm suspension fork — a road commuter, not a cruiser

Trade-offs

  • Jasion's own listing claims 62 miles in the title and 45-60 miles in the detail — plan on the lower figure
  • Mechanical disc brakes front and rear, not hydraulic
  • Jasion states no e-bike class, and 28 mph alongside a pure-electric mode does not map cleanly onto the three-class system
  • No published weight
Rated motor750 W
Battery528 Wh
Claimed range45-60 mi (listing title claims 62)
Top assisted speed28 mph
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best step-up if you spend the money

Heybike Mars 3.0

The genuine step-up in this bracket, and the only bike here with a torque sensor: assist that scales with how hard you pedal rather than switching on and off. Full suspension, a 624 Wh pack, both UL listings and a 440 lb load rating. What Heybike will not tell you is the top speed or the class, and the Amazon listing claims 32 mph — above the Class 3 ceiling — so ask before you ride it on a path.

What you get

  • Torque sensor rather than a cadence sensor — rare below $1,500
  • UL 2271 and UL 2849 certified, and IP65 rated
  • 440 lb max load, the highest published figure on this site
  • 95 N·m claimed torque and full suspension on 20x4 tires

Trade-offs

  • Heybike publishes no top speed, no class and no weight for it
  • The Amazon listing's 32 mph claim would put it outside the 3-class system
  • Costs roughly twice what the strongest sub-$700 picks cost
  • Stock is thin — the listing has been showing single-digit quantities
Rated motor750 W
Battery624 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 65 mi
Top assisted speedNot published
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best for path and road legality

Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

A 20-inch folding fat-tire bike with a switchable class and a 614 Wh battery, aimed at riders who want one bike that legally adapts to where they ride. The claimed 62-mile range is optimistic, but the switchable Class 1/2/3 is a genuinely useful feature at this price.

What you get

  • Switchable Class 1/2/3 to stay legal on different paths
  • 614 Wh battery and a claimed 62-mile range
  • Step-through fat-tire folder is versatile and comfortable

Trade-offs

  • Aipas doesn't publish a weight
  • Peak vs rated wattage is described inconsistently in listings
  • A less-established brand than GoTrax or Heybike
Rated motor750 W
Battery614 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 62 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
WeightNot published
ClassClass 1/2/3 (selectable)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we picked

Class legality came first, and it is not a formality in this bracket. A legal e-bike has a motor rated at or below 750 W and assists to 20 mph (Class 1 and 2) or 28 mph (Class 3). A large share of what Amazon returns for “electric bike” between $1,300 and $2,000 is rated at 3,000 to 6,500 W with a 37 to 47 mph top speed. Those are e-motos. They are not on this page, and the class guide explains exactly what you give up by buying one.

Published watt-hours came second, because battery capacity is the one thing you cannot bolt on later and the one figure the marketing copy works hardest to avoid. A “70 mile” claim tells you nothing; a 52 V x 20 Ah pack tells you 1,040 Wh. Then certification — UL 2849 for the electrical system, UL 2271 for the pack — which is the single most useful tiebreaker on a budget bike and is far more common now than it was two years ago. Then the sensor and the brakes, which are what the money buys once the basics are covered.

We have not ridden any of these bikes and we do not claim to have; this is exactly what we do instead.

The four picks on published specs

Everything below comes from our registry, which records what each maker or listing actually states. Read the “Not published” cells as findings rather than omissions — a maker that will not state a class has told you something.

BikeRated motorBatteryClassMax load
SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)750 W1040 WhNot publishedNot published
Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)750 W528 WhNot published330 lb
Heybike Mars 3.0750 W624 WhNot published440 lb
Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire750 W614 WhClass 1/2/3 (selectable)Not published

Every one of these is rated at 750 W, which is the U.S. ceiling for a legal e-bike, so none of them is buying you more motor than the others. What separates them is the pack, the sensor and what the maker is willing to put in writing.

What each price bracket actually buys

The most useful thing we can tell you about this bracket is where it sits in the ladder. These are our own conclusions from the registry, not a manufacturer’s pitch.

BracketWhat the money reliably buysWhat it still does not
Under $500A small pack, a modest motor, and a bike that is genuinely lightReal range, hydraulic brakes, or a certified battery
Under $1,000500–750 W, 500–700 Wh, fat tires, and often UL 2849A torque sensor, hydraulic brakes, or a published weight
Under $1,500The biggest packs on the market at this level, suspension, and equipment fitted as standardBrand-name support, or a frame designed rather than assembled
Under $2,000 (this page)A torque sensor and both UL listings, if you pick carefullyAnything Amazon sells above about $1,300 that is still a legal e-bike

The shape of that table is the argument. The curve of value flattens hard somewhere around $1,200, and past it the Amazon catalog stops offering better legal e-bikes and starts offering faster illegal ones. If you have $2,000 and you want to spend it, the honest advice is to spend about $700 to $1,200 of it on the bike and the rest on the things that make it usable — a real lock, lights, a rack, and somewhere to keep it.

The trap in this bracket: 4,000 W is not an e-bike

Search Amazon for an electric bike around $1,300 to $2,000 and a large share of the results advertise numbers like “4000W peak,” “38MPH,” “60V 40Ah.” Those are real products and some of them are well made. They are also, in almost every U.S. state, not e-bikes.

The three-class system caps a legal e-bike at 750 W rated and 28 mph assisted. Above that, a machine is generally treated as a moped or a motor vehicle, which means registration, a license, insurance and a ban from every bike lane and shared path you bought it to use. The practical consequence is not a ticket in most cases — it is that the bike is uninsurable, unwelcome on the trail network, and worth very little secondhand. Our e-bikes vs e-motos comparison lays out the whole distinction, and the class guide covers what each class is allowed to do.

There is a softer version of the same trap, and one of our own picks has it. Heybike does not publish a top speed or a class for the Mars 3.0 anywhere on its own product page, while the Amazon listing title advertises 32 mph — four over the Class 3 ceiling. We have recorded both facts and left the class field as “Not published,” because the honest answer is that we do not know and neither does the buyer. If path access matters to you, ask Heybike in writing before you buy, or take the switchable-class bike instead, where the answer is a setting rather than a guess.

What the extra money buys, in order

If you are going to spend past $1,000, these are the upgrades that are genuinely worth paying for, in the order we would buy them.

A torque sensor. This is the biggest single difference between a cheap e-bike and a good one, and it is the main thing the Mars 3.0 buys over everything else here. A cadence sensor detects that the pedals are turning and switches the motor on; a torque sensor measures how hard you are pushing and scales assist to match. The first feels like a switch, the second feels like strong legs. Below about $1,000 it is rare.

Both UL listings. UL 2849 covers the whole electrical system and UL 2271 covers the battery pack. The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is explicit that certified packs are the thing to buy, and in this bracket you should not accept a bike without at least UL 2849. Three of the four picks here have it.

Hydraulic brakes. Mechanical discs work, but they need more lever effort and more frequent adjustment, and stopping distance scales with mass on a bike that may weigh 70 pounds before you sit on it. Our brakes guide covers what to look for. Note that none of our four picks is hydraulic — on Amazon, hydraulic brakes in this bracket usually arrive bundled with the wattage that takes the bike out of the class system.

Watt-hours, always. A 1,040 Wh pack at $700 is a better buy than a 624 Wh pack at $1,200 if range is your constraint, which is why the SASIKEIBIKE leads this page. Work the numbers yourself with the range guide — roughly 20 Wh per mile on the throttle is the planning figure we use.

When to stop shopping Amazon

There is a real answer to “what should I buy for $1,800,” and it is mostly not on Amazon. The value brands with the strongest reputations in this bracket — Lectric, Ride1Up, Aventon, Rad Power, Velotric — sell direct from their own sites. We earn nothing from any of them, which is precisely why we will tell you plainly that at $1,500 to $2,000 they are the serious competition, and our value brands guide works through who is worth buying from and what you give up either way.

What you get buying direct at this price is a torque sensor as standard, hydraulic brakes, a published weight and class, a warranty with a phone number behind it, and spare parts in five years. What you give up is the Amazon returns process, which is not nothing. We cannot show you a live price for a direct-sell bike, so if a pick here shows “Check price” rather than a number, that is why — and where to buy an e-bike covers the trade in full.

The buyer-first summary: under about $1,200 Amazon is genuinely competitive and our picks here are good buys. Between $1,200 and $2,000 the catalog thins out, the wattage claims inflate, and the direct brands win on everything except delivery speed. That is an uncomfortable thing for an affiliate site to write and it is still what the specs say.

Frequently asked questions

Is it worth spending $2,000 on an e-bike?

Only if you are buying something specific with it — a torque sensor, hydraulic brakes, both UL listings, or a brand with real parts support. On Amazon, most of what sits between $1,300 and $2,000 is either a thinly-stocked unknown brand or a 3,000W-plus machine that is not a legal Class 1/2/3 e-bike. If you want to spend $2,000 well, the direct-sell brands are the honest competition at that price.

What is the best e-bike under $2,000?

Our pick is the SASIKEIBIKE 20-inch folding fat-tire bike, and it costs about a third of the bracket ceiling. Its 52 V x 20 Ah pack works out to 1,040 Wh — the largest published capacity on this site — with a 750 W rated motor, front and rear suspension and UL 2849 certification. If you specifically want a torque sensor, the Heybike Mars 3.0 is the step-up, at roughly twice the price.

Why are there 4,000 W electric bikes for $1,500 on Amazon?

Because they are not e-bikes in the legal sense. A U.S. e-bike is capped at 750 W rated and 28 mph assisted; a 4,000 W, 38 mph machine is generally classed as a moped or motor vehicle, needing registration, a license and insurance, and barred from bike lanes and shared paths. They are sold in the e-bike category because that is where buyers look, not because they qualify.

What does a torque sensor actually change?

It changes how the assist feels and how far the battery goes. A cadence sensor only knows whether the pedals are turning, so the motor tends to switch on and off in surges. A torque sensor measures how hard you are pedaling and matches the motor to it, which is smoother, safer in traffic and more efficient, because the motor stops delivering full power when you do not need it.

Should I buy an e-bike on Amazon or direct from the brand?

Under about $1,200, Amazon is genuinely competitive and the returns process is a real benefit. Above that, brands like Lectric, Ride1Up, Aventon, Rad Power and Velotric sell direct and generally beat the Amazon catalog on sensor quality, brakes, published specs and long-term parts support. We earn nothing from those brands, which is why we will say so plainly.

How many watt-hours do I need?

Work backwards from your longest regular ride. We plan on roughly 20 watt-hours per mile for flat-ground throttle riding, so a 30-mile round trip wants about 600 Wh with a little margin, and hills, headwinds, cargo and a heavier rider all push that figure up. Pedal assist at a low level uses far less. Manufacturer range claims are best treated as the ceiling of a perfect ride, not a plan.

Sources

Keep reading