Volt & Velo

Best E-Bikes for Delivery Work

A delivery shift is six hours of stop-start riding with a bag on the back. Watt-hours decide whether the bike finishes the shift, and legality decides whether you keep it. The value picks, ranked on both.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Delivery is the hardest job a value e-bike is asked to do. A commuter rides twice a day and charges overnight. A delivery rider is on the bike for a shift, accelerating from a stop at every pickup and drop, carrying a loaded bag, often in the dark and often in the rain, and the bike has to pay for itself. Most “best e-bike” lists are not written for that, and most of the bikes on them would not survive a month of it.

Four things decide this list. Battery capacity in watt-hours, because a shift is measured in hours on the throttle, not in miles on a sunny loop. Published load rating, because you plus a bag plus a rack is a number, and the maker either publishes a limit or does not. Charging time, because a big pack that takes eight hours to fill limits how many shifts you can run. And class legality, because the fastest way to lose a delivery bike is to be riding something that is not legally a bicycle when a police officer or an insurer asks. The section on that is blunt, because the delivery market is full of bikes that fail it.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, price and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

A 52 V 20 Ah pack works out to 1,040 Wh — the largest battery in this registry, on a folding 20x4 fat-tire frame with front and rear suspension, for about $700. It is heavy, the frame is a conventional folder rather than a low step-through, and no weight is published; what you are buying is watt-hours and torque per dollar, and on that measure nothing here is close.

Best overall: the biggest battery
$699.99 · View on Amazon

$749.007% off

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2

Heybike Ranger S

A step up from the Mars: the Ranger S pairs a 750 W motor with a larger 692 Wh UL-certified battery and dual suspension, aimed at riders who want more range and comfort out of a folding fat-tire bike. On Amazon it's one of the stronger sub-$1,300 picks.

Best folding shift bike
3

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

Best for riders who pedal
4
Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

The commuter-kit bike of the value bracket: UL 2849 certification on the whole electrical system, real turn signals and a brake light, a 528 Wh removable pack and assist to 28 mph, for under $600. The battery is mid-sized rather than huge, so buy this one for the equipment and the certification rather than for the range.

Best budget with signals
$689.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: the biggest battery

SASIKEIBIKE 20" Folding Fat-Tire (52 V 20 Ah)

A 52 V 20 Ah pack works out to 1,040 Wh — the largest battery in this registry, on a folding 20x4 fat-tire frame with front and rear suspension, for about $700. It is heavy, the frame is a conventional folder rather than a low step-through, and no weight is published; what you are buying is watt-hours and torque per dollar, and on that measure nothing here is close.

What you get

  • 1,040 Wh (52 V x 20 Ah) — the biggest published capacity we list
  • 96 N-m of torque from a 750 W rated / 1500 W peak motor, with 7-speed gearing for climbs
  • Front and rear suspension plus 20x4 tires — unusual at this price
  • UL 2849 certified electrical system and an IPX6-rated, lockable battery compartment

Trade-offs

  • SASIKEIBIKE publishes no weight, and a 1,040 Wh folding fat-tire bike will not be light
  • The frame is a conventional folder, not a low step-through
  • No e-bike class is stated on the listing
  • A 6-8 hour full charge is slow, which is the price of the big pack
Rated motor750 W
Battery1040 Wh
Claimed range40-70 mi (pedal assist)
Top assisted speedNot published
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best folding shift bike

Heybike Ranger S

A step up from the Mars: the Ranger S pairs a 750 W motor with a larger 692 Wh UL-certified battery and dual suspension, aimed at riders who want more range and comfort out of a folding fat-tire bike. On Amazon it's one of the stronger sub-$1,300 picks.

What you get

  • 692 Wh UL-certified battery for a claimed 55-mile range
  • Suspension and 20x4 tires make rough roads comfortable
  • Folds for storage and transport

Trade-offs

  • ~72 lb — heavy to lift despite folding
  • A 1000 W version exists; confirm the trim you're buying
  • Fenders and rack are extras on some configurations
Rated motor750 W
Battery692 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 55 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
Weight72 lb
ClassClass 3 (750 W version)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best for riders who pedal

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

What you get

  • 672 Wh battery supports a claimed 60-mile range
  • Torque sensor delivers smoother, more natural assist than cheap cadence sensors
  • Selectable Class 1/2/3 lets you run it legally where you ride

Trade-offs

  • Skinnier tires mean less cushion than a fat-tire model
  • Original F3 used a smaller battery — confirm you're getting the current 2.0
  • 28 mph assist is Class 3, which is barred from some paths
Rated motor500 W
Battery672 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 60 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
Weight58.3 lb
ClassClass 1/2/3 (selectable, torque sensor)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best budget with signals

Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

The commuter-kit bike of the value bracket: UL 2849 certification on the whole electrical system, real turn signals and a brake light, a 528 Wh removable pack and assist to 28 mph, for under $600. The battery is mid-sized rather than huge, so buy this one for the equipment and the certification rather than for the range.

What you get

  • UL 2849 certification on the full electrical system — still uncommon this cheap
  • Turn signals, brake light and front light fitted as standard, not sold as extras
  • 528 Wh removable pack, IPX-6 rated and key-locked to the frame
  • 7-speed with 26-inch wheels and an 80 mm suspension fork — a road commuter, not a cruiser

Trade-offs

  • Jasion's own listing claims 62 miles in the title and 45-60 miles in the detail — plan on the lower figure
  • Mechanical disc brakes front and rear, not hydraulic
  • Jasion states no e-bike class, and 28 mph alongside a pure-electric mode does not map cleanly onto the three-class system
  • No published weight
Rated motor750 W
Battery528 Wh
Claimed range45-60 mi (listing title claims 62)
Top assisted speed28 mph
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we picked

We ranked every e-bike in the registry on battery watt-hours first, then removed anything with a pack under 500 Wh, because below that a shift becomes two shifts with a charge between. We then looked for a published load limit, a stated safety certification and a real charging time, and we gave weight to the fittings delivery riders actually use: a throttle, lights and a frame you can rack. We have not ridden every one of these; this is exactly what we do instead.

The arithmetic of a shift

The planning figure this site uses is about 20 Wh per mile for a heavy bike ridden with a lot of throttle, and delivery riding is the definition of that. On that basis the 1,040 Wh SASIKEIBIKE pack is good for roughly 50 miles of stop-start work; the 692 Wh Ranger S and the 672 Wh GoTrax F3 land in the low 30s; and the 528 Wh Jasion Roamer in the mid 20s. Measure your own typical shift in miles before you choose: if it runs to 30 miles or more, the bottom of that list is a one-shift bike and the top is a bike with a margin for the evening rush. Our range guide explains why the maker’s range claim is not the number to plan around.

Cold weather, a heavy bag and hills all push the per-mile figure up, not down. If you deliver in a hilly city, size the pack for the climb and read our hills roundup first.

Why watt-hours beat watts for this job

Every delivery listing on Amazon shouts a peak-wattage number. Ignore it. A 750 W rated motor pulling away from a stop with a loaded bag is what all four picks share, and it is plenty. What separates them is how many times they can do it before the pack is empty, and that is watt-hours. The SASIKEIBIKE’s 52 V 20 Ah pack is the largest published capacity in this registry; its price puts it in the same band as bikes with barely half the battery, which is why it heads this list despite publishing no weight, no class and no top speed. Our motor power guide covers the rated-versus-peak trick in detail.

Load: the number that includes the bag

A delivery setup adds a rear rack, an insulated bag and whatever is in it on top of the rider’s own weight, and the maker’s load limit has to cover all of it. The Jasion Roamer publishes a 330 lb max load; the GoTrax F3 a 264 lb total payload. The Ranger S and the SASIKEIBIKE publish none on the listings we source from, which is a real mark against them for this job and is stated on their cards. Our heavy-rider roundup explains why a load figure without its basis is not comparable across brands.

Charging between shifts, and a second battery

A big pack is slow to fill. The SASIKEIBIKE listing states a 6 to 8 hour full charge, which means a lunch-shift-to-dinner-shift turnaround does not happen on one battery. The practical answer for full-time riders is a second pack, charged while the first is on the bike. The Roamer’s pack is removable and the SASIKEIBIKE lists a lockable battery compartment; confirm on the listing that the pack comes off the frame before you plan around a spare. Read the batteries roundup before you buy a spare: voltage, mount and connector all have to match, and a 48 V pack will not go on a 52 V bike. Charge the spare in the open, on a hard surface, using the maker’s charger; the CPSC’s micromobility guidance is written for exactly this use pattern, and our battery care guide turns it into a routine.

The legality section, in plain words

A large share of the bikes marketed to delivery riders are not legally e-bikes. Anything with a motor over 750 W, or assist past 28 mph, or a throttle past 20 mph, falls outside the three-class system that most states use, and is treated as a moped or motor vehicle that needs registration, a license and insurance. Ride one on a bike lane and you are operating an unregistered motor vehicle with no insurance behind you. Our e-bikes vs e-motos guide explains how to tell them apart from a listing, and classes and laws covers the state rules.

The four bikes here are 750 W rated or less. The Ranger S is a Class 3 bike at 28 mph; the F3 is selectable, so it can be run as Class 2 where a lane requires it; the Roamer and the SASIKEIBIKE publish no class at all, which means you should confirm the shipped speed limit on the display before the first shift and set it to what your city allows. Being able to show that setting is worth more than any spec on the sheet.

Lights, fenders, and a bike that looks like a bike

Delivery happens in the dark and in the rain. The Roamer is the only pick with turn signals and a brake light fitted as standard, which is why it makes the list with the smallest battery here. On the others, budget for a real front light and a rear light from the lights roundup, fenders from the fenders roundup, and the phone mount you will be staring at all shift from the phone mounts roundup. A rear rack rated for the bag is not optional; see racks and panniers.

What we would actually buy

Full-time, flat city: the SASIKEIBIKE, a second pack, and the discipline to set its speed limit to the local rule. Part-time, or a rider who wants a bike that also folds into a small apartment between shifts: the Ranger S. A rider who pedals hard and wants the bike to feel like a bicycle rather than a scooter: the F3, whose torque sensor is unusual at this price. Tightest budget, most nights: the Roamer, for the certification and the signals, accepting that it is a one-shift battery.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best cheap e-bike for food delivery?

Among the bikes we list, the SASIKEIBIKE 20-inch folder has by far the largest battery (1,040 Wh) for its price, which is the spec that decides whether a bike finishes a shift. The Jasion Roamer is the budget alternative: a smaller 528 Wh pack, but UL 2849 certification and factory turn signals and brake light.

How big a battery do I need for delivery work?

Plan on about 20 Wh per mile for stop-start riding with a loaded bag. A 25 to 40 mile shift therefore wants 500 to 800 Wh, with a margin for cold weather and hills. Anything under 500 Wh is a two-charge shift.

Are delivery e-bikes legal?

Only if they stay inside the three-class system: 750 W rated or less, assist no faster than 28 mph, throttle no faster than 20 mph. Many bikes sold to delivery riders exceed that and are legally mopeds or motor vehicles, which means no bike lanes and no bicycle insurance cover. All four picks here are 750 W rated or less.

Should I buy a second battery for delivery?

If you run more than one shift a day and your bike's pack is removable, yes. Big packs take 6 to 8 hours to charge, so a spare charged while you ride is the only way to turn around quickly. Match voltage, mount and connector exactly, and charge it in the open on a hard surface with the maker's charger.

Does a folding e-bike make sense for delivery?

It can, if you store the bike in a small apartment between shifts. The Heybike Ranger S folds and still carries a 692 Wh UL-certified pack. The cost is weight: at about 72 lb it is not a bike you carry far.

Sources

Keep reading