How we picked
A published payload figurewas the entry requirement. Not a reviewer’s estimate, not a number inferred from a similar model — a limit stated by the manufacturer or by the source this site already cites for that bike’s specs. Bikes that publish nothing were excluded from the picks on principle, however good they are otherwise.
What the figure counts came second, and it reorders the list more than you would expect. A 350 lb limit that includes a 58 lb bike is a 292 lb rider-and-cargo allowance, which is less than a plainly stated 330 lb one. Frame and wheel formatcame third — wider tires and shorter, fatter wheels carry load better than a big thin wheel. Then motor and battery, because weight is the single biggest tax on both. We have not ridden every one of these; this is exactly what we do instead.
What the published numbers actually say
Every figure below was read from the source this site cites for that bike’s specs, on August 27, 2026. The wording column is the point of the table: these limits are not measured the same way, so the headline numbers are not directly comparable.
| Bike | Published limit | How the source words it | Bike weight |
|---|
| Retrospec Beaumont Rev (Step-Through) | 350 lb | Recommended weight limit — basis not stated on the listing | 57.5 lb |
| Retrospec Chatham Rev | 350 lb | Recommended weight limit, stated as INCLUDING the bike's own 58 lb | 58 lb |
| Heybike Mars 2.0 | 330 lb | Max load | 75 lb |
| Jasion Roamer (Step-Over) | 330 lb | Max load, from Jasion's own Roamer product page | Not published |
| GoTrax Ranger | 264 lb | Total weight limit — GoTrax does not state whether the bike's own 69.7 lb counts toward it | 69.7 lb |
| GoTrax F3 | 264 lb | Total payload capacity | 58.3 lb |
| Vivi C26 Cruiser (Step-Through) | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Read the third column before the second. Retrospec states the limit two different ways on two bikes in the same range — the Chatham Rev spells out that the 350 lb figure includes the bike, and the Beaumont Rev does not say either way. We have not copied the Chatham’s wording across to the Beaumont, because assuming is how a 350 lb bike becomes a 292 lb bike after you have paid for it. If that distinction matters to you — and at the top of the range it does — ask Retrospec directly before you buy.
GoTrax is the other instructive case. Both GoTrax bikes here publish 264 lb, the lowest figures on the page, and the Ranger says “total weight limit” without defining “total.” On a 69.7 lb bike, the difference between those two readings is the difference between a 264 lb rider allowance and a 194 lb one. That is not a detail. It is the entire question for anyone this page is written for, and it is why neither GoTrax is a pick here despite both being decent value bikes elsewhere on this site.
The Vivi C26 row is there deliberately. Vivi publishes no load limit at all on its own product page, so the honest entry is “Not published” rather than a guess. It is a perfectly reasonable budget cruiser for a lighter rider; it simply cannot be recommended on a page about carrying weight when the maker will not say what it carries.
Payload is a system limit, not a frame limit
It is tempting to read a max load as a statement about the frame snapping. In practice the frame is rarely the part that complains first. The limit is a system number covering the wheels, the spokes, the tires, the brakes and the rear rack together, and on a value e-bike the weakest link is almost always the wheel.
A 20-inch fat wheel is a genuinely good format for a heavier rider: the rim is small, so the spokes are short and stiff, and a 4-inch tire holds a large volume of air that spreads impact across a wider contact patch. That is a large part of why the Mars 2.0 leads this page. A big, thin, lightly-spoked 26 or 27.5-inch wheel is the opposite trade — comfortable and quick on smooth tarmac, and the first thing to go out of true if you land a pothole at 250 pounds.
Brakes are the second constraint, and the one riders notice soonest. Stopping distance scales with mass, so a heavier rider on a 70 lb bike is asking considerably more of the same mechanical discs than a 150 lb rider is. Our brakes guidecovers what to look for; the short version is that a 180 mm rotor and hydraulic actuation are worth real money at the top of the payload range, and cable discs need their pads checked more often than the manual suggests.
Tire pressure does more for you than it does for anyone else
The cheapest, most immediate improvement available to a heavier rider is correct pressure, and it is the one most often got wrong. Underinflated tires under load flex at the sidewall, which wastes energy, ruins handling and dramatically raises the risk of a pinch flat when the tire compresses far enough for the rim to bite it.
The sidewall prints a range rather than a number for exactly this reason. Heavier riders belong at the upper end of that range, and riders carrying panniers or a rack load belong higher still. Our tire pressure guide works through how to find your own figure without inventing one, and a pump with a real gauge is a genuinely worthwhile $30 next to a $700 bike.
Weight is a tax on range and on climbing
Everything the site says about range applies more sharply here. Moving more mass takes more energy per mile, so the manufacturer’s range claim — already optimistic — degrades faster for a heavier rider than for the rider the marketing photo shows. If the site’s planning figure of roughly 20 watt-hours per mile is the flat-ground default for throttle riding, treat the upper end of that band as your starting point and measure your own number over a few rides. The range guide explains how.
Motor rating matters for the same reason. A 250 to 350 W bike that is adequate for a 160 lb rider on the flat is working near its ceiling with 280 pounds aboard and any gradient at all, and a hub motor held at low speed under sustained load is the classic way to make a controller cut power to protect itself. In this bracket, 500 W rated is a sensible floor for a heavier rider and 750 W buys genuine headroom — the reasoning is in the motor power guide, and the hill picks apply directly if your route has real gradient.
When the listing publishes nothing
This is common enough that it needs a plan rather than a shrug. Do not assume, do not average the category, and do not accept a number from a reseller listing that the manufacturer does not repeat — resellers copy each other, and a wrong figure propagates fast.
Ask the seller in writing and keep the reply. On Amazon, the product questions section is public and dated, which makes it more useful than a chat window. A brand that will not answer a direct payload question in writing has told you something useful about what happens if the wheel fails in month four, which is also the right lens for the brand-level view of who is worth buying from in this bracket.
Finally, leave margin. The published figure covers rider plus cargo together, so a 330 lb limit is not 330 pounds of rider — it is you, plus a lock, plus winter clothing, plus whatever is on the rack. If you are adding panniers or a rack, that load counts twice over: once against the rack’s own rating and once against the bike’s total.