Volt & Velo

Heybike vs Jasion vs GoTrax: Which Value E-Bike Brand?

The three Amazon-carried brands that dominate the under-$1,500 search results, compared on what each one publishes, what each one withholds, and which bike from each is actually worth buying.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Search for a value e-bike and the same three names fill the results: Heybike, Jasion and GoTrax. They are not interchangeable. Each brand has a distinct idea of what to spend the money on, a distinct habit about which specs it publishes, and a distinct price band where it is strongest. Picking the brand before the bike is a mistake, but understanding the brand tells you which of its bikes to look at.

What to compare, in order. What the brand publishes: rated watts, battery watt-hours, weight, top speed and class are the five numbers that let you compare bikes at all, and one of these brands leaves three of them blank on its flagship. Certification: UL 2849 on the whole electrical system or UL 2271 on the pack, stated by number or not at all. Sensor type: a torque sensor changes how a bike feels more than any other single spec, and only two of the six bikes below have one. And price per watt-hour, which is where the value argument is settled. Two bikes from each brand follow, then the brand-by-brand verdict.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, price and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

The commuter-kit bike of the value bracket: UL 2849 certification on the whole electrical system, real turn signals and a brake light, a 528 Wh removable pack and assist to 28 mph, for under $600. The battery is mid-sized rather than huge, so buy this one for the equipment and the certification rather than for the range.

Best overall value
$689.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Heybike Mars 3.0

Heybike Mars 3.0

The genuine step-up in this bracket, and the only bike here with a torque sensor: assist that scales with how hard you pedal rather than switching on and off. Full suspension, a 624 Wh pack, both UL listings and a 440 lb load rating. What Heybike will not tell you is the top speed or the class, and the Amazon listing claims 32 mph — above the Class 3 ceiling — so ask before you ride it on a path.

Best if you spend past $1,000
$1,199.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

Best road commuter
4
Jasion EB5

Jasion EB5

One of the lightest and cheapest ways into a real e-bike: the EB5 is a 26-inch commuter with a removable 360 Wh battery, a Shimano 7-speed and front suspension, at ~50 lb. Power is modest, but for flat-to-rolling commutes it's a lot of usable bike for the money.

Cheapest real e-bike
$199.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of September 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5

Heybike Ranger S

A step up from the Mars: the Ranger S pairs a 750 W motor with a larger 692 Wh UL-certified battery and dual suspension, aimed at riders who want more range and comfort out of a folding fat-tire bike. On Amazon it's one of the stronger sub-$1,300 picks.

Best folding range
6

GoTrax Ranger

At its usual sub-$900 street price the Ranger is the value-buyer's default: a 500 W hub motor, a ~499 Wh battery and fat tires that shrug off potholes, with a thumb throttle for the days you don't want to pedal. You give up finesse, not capability.

Best fat-tire under $1,000

The picks in full

#1Best overall value

Jasion Roamer (Step-Over)

The commuter-kit bike of the value bracket: UL 2849 certification on the whole electrical system, real turn signals and a brake light, a 528 Wh removable pack and assist to 28 mph, for under $600. The battery is mid-sized rather than huge, so buy this one for the equipment and the certification rather than for the range.

What you get

  • UL 2849 certification on the full electrical system — still uncommon this cheap
  • Turn signals, brake light and front light fitted as standard, not sold as extras
  • 528 Wh removable pack, IPX-6 rated and key-locked to the frame
  • 7-speed with 26-inch wheels and an 80 mm suspension fork — a road commuter, not a cruiser

Trade-offs

  • Jasion's own listing claims 62 miles in the title and 45-60 miles in the detail — plan on the lower figure
  • Mechanical disc brakes front and rear, not hydraulic
  • Jasion states no e-bike class, and 28 mph alongside a pure-electric mode does not map cleanly onto the three-class system
  • No published weight
Rated motor750 W
Battery528 Wh
Claimed range45-60 mi (listing title claims 62)
Top assisted speed28 mph
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 25, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best if you spend past $1,000

Heybike Mars 3.0

The genuine step-up in this bracket, and the only bike here with a torque sensor: assist that scales with how hard you pedal rather than switching on and off. Full suspension, a 624 Wh pack, both UL listings and a 440 lb load rating. What Heybike will not tell you is the top speed or the class, and the Amazon listing claims 32 mph — above the Class 3 ceiling — so ask before you ride it on a path.

What you get

  • Torque sensor rather than a cadence sensor — rare below $1,500
  • UL 2271 and UL 2849 certified, and IP65 rated
  • 440 lb max load, the highest published figure on this site
  • 95 N·m claimed torque and full suspension on 20x4 tires

Trade-offs

  • Heybike publishes no top speed, no class and no weight for it
  • The Amazon listing's 32 mph claim would put it outside the 3-class system
  • Costs roughly twice what the strongest sub-$700 picks cost
  • Stock is thin — the listing has been showing single-digit quantities
Rated motor750 W
Battery624 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 65 mi
Top assisted speedNot published
WeightNot published
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on September 3, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best road commuter

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

What you get

  • 672 Wh battery supports a claimed 60-mile range
  • Torque sensor delivers smoother, more natural assist than cheap cadence sensors
  • Selectable Class 1/2/3 lets you run it legally where you ride

Trade-offs

  • Skinnier tires mean less cushion than a fat-tire model
  • Original F3 used a smaller battery — confirm you're getting the current 2.0
  • 28 mph assist is Class 3, which is barred from some paths
Rated motor500 W
Battery672 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 60 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
Weight58.3 lb
ClassClass 1/2/3 (selectable, torque sensor)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest real e-bike

Jasion EB5

One of the lightest and cheapest ways into a real e-bike: the EB5 is a 26-inch commuter with a removable 360 Wh battery, a Shimano 7-speed and front suspension, at ~50 lb. Power is modest, but for flat-to-rolling commutes it's a lot of usable bike for the money.

What you get

  • Light for an e-bike at ~49.6 lb — easier to carry and store
  • Removable 360 Wh battery charges off the bike
  • Shimano 7-speed and front suspension included

Trade-offs

  • 350 W rated is modest; steep hills will need your legs
  • Class not formally published by Jasion
  • Some listings advertise inflated peak-watt figures
Rated motor350 W
Battery360 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 40 mi
Top assisted speed20 mph
Weight49.6 lb
ClassNot published

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Best folding range

Heybike Ranger S

A step up from the Mars: the Ranger S pairs a 750 W motor with a larger 692 Wh UL-certified battery and dual suspension, aimed at riders who want more range and comfort out of a folding fat-tire bike. On Amazon it's one of the stronger sub-$1,300 picks.

What you get

  • 692 Wh UL-certified battery for a claimed 55-mile range
  • Suspension and 20x4 tires make rough roads comfortable
  • Folds for storage and transport

Trade-offs

  • ~72 lb — heavy to lift despite folding
  • A 1000 W version exists; confirm the trim you're buying
  • Fenders and rack are extras on some configurations
Rated motor750 W
Battery692 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 55 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
Weight72 lb
ClassClass 3 (750 W version)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#6Best fat-tire under $1,000

GoTrax Ranger

At its usual sub-$900 street price the Ranger is the value-buyer's default: a 500 W hub motor, a ~499 Wh battery and fat tires that shrug off potholes, with a thumb throttle for the days you don't want to pedal. You give up finesse, not capability.

What you get

  • 500 W motor and a claimed 50-mile range that covers most commutes on pedal-assist
  • Fat tires soak up bad pavement and gravel without a suspension upgrade
  • Thumb throttle plus 5-level pedal assist — genuinely no-pedal capable

Trade-offs

  • Heavy at ~70 lb, so carrying it up stairs is a two-person job
  • Basic mechanical disc brakes and no included rack or fenders
  • GoTrax doesn't formally state an e-bike class
Rated motor500 W
Battery499 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 50 mi
Top assisted speed20 mph
Weight69.7 lb
ClassClass 2 (throttle + pedal assist)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we compared them

Every figure below comes from the brand’s own product page, the pinned Amazon listing, or an independent tester, each dated on the product card. Where a brand does not publish a number, the card says “Not published” and so do we; nothing is estimated. Prices on this page are live and dated, so the value verdicts are made on today’s numbers, not last year’s. We have not ridden every one of these; this is exactly what we do instead.

Heybike: the spend-up brand that hides the speed

Heybike is where the value bracket gets its nicest hardware. The Mars 3.0 is the only bike in this comparison with a torque sensor and full suspension, and the only one with both UL 2271 and UL 2849 listed alongside an IP65 rating and a 440 lb load rating. The Ranger S pairs a 750 W motor with a 692 Wh UL-certified pack in a folding frame. If you are willing to spend past $1,000, Heybike is the brand that gives you something for it.

The catch is what Heybike does not say. For the Mars 3.0 the brand publishes no top speed, no class and no weight; the Amazon listing title claims 32 mph, which is above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, and an independent tester measured roughly that unrestricted. That is a bike you have to configure to be legal on a path, and the brand leaves that to you. Heybike also rolled its Mars 2.0 Amazon listing over to the 3.0 without a new page, which is why our Mars 3.0 review and Mars 2.0 review now cross-link.

Jasion: the price floor, with a certified surprise

Jasion owns the bottom of the real market. The EB5 is the lightest and cheapest e-bike we list, at about 49.6 lb with a 360 Wh removable pack and a 20 mph ceiling; its 350 W motor is modest and Jasion publishes no class for it. That is the whole bike, and for flat commutes and first e-bikes it is enough. Our EB5 review goes into where it runs out.

The Roamer is the surprise. At a price well below the Mars 3.0’s (both are live on the cards above) it carries UL 2849 certification on the whole electrical system, a 528 Wh removable pack, a 750 W motor, and turn signals plus a brake light fitted from the factory — equipment neither of the other brands includes at any price here. Its weaknesses are stated on its card: mechanical discs, no published weight, no published class, and a listing whose range claim varies depending on which line you read. On price per watt-hour and on certification per dollar, it is the best bike in this comparison, which is why it heads the list.

GoTrax: the brand that publishes the weight

GoTrax sits between the other two, and its distinguishing habit is a good one: it publishes the weight and the load limit on both bikes. The Ranger is a 20 mph fat-tire bike at 500 W and 499 Wh with a thumb throttle — Class 2 in practice, though GoTrax does not formally state a class for it — with a published 264 lb weight limit and a weight of just under 70 lb that the brand does not hide. The F3 is the more interesting bike: a torque sensor, a 672 Wh pack, 58.3 lb, and a selectable Class 1/2/3 so you can run it legally wherever you ride. Read our F3 review and Ranger review for the detail.

The honest complication with GoTrax is where you buy it. We have not been able to pin a stable Amazon listing for either bike, so our buy links for GoTrax go to a tagged Amazon search rather than a specific product page. Check the exact model and battery on the listing you land on, because the original F3 shipped with a smaller pack than the current one.

Head to head on the five numbers

Battery. Ranger S 692 Wh, F3 672 Wh, Mars 3.0 624 Wh, Roamer 528 Wh, Ranger 499 Wh, EB5 360 Wh. On watt-hours per dollar at current prices, the Roamer and the Ranger S are the two to look at; our long-range roundup ranks the whole bracket on this.

Motor and sensor. Four of the six are 750 W rated; the two GoTrax bikes are 500 W. But the F3 and the Mars 3.0 have torque sensors, and on the road that matters more than the extra 250 W. Our pedal-assist guide explains why.

Weight. EB5 49.6 lb, F3 58.3 lb, Ranger 69.7 lb, Ranger S 72 lb. Heybike publishes no weight for the Mars 3.0 and Jasion none for the Roamer. If you carry the bike up stairs, that silence is a spec.

Class and speed. GoTrax states a selectable class on the F3 and a 20 mph top speed on the Ranger. Heybike states Class 3 on the Ranger S and nothing on the Mars 3.0. Jasion states no class on either bike and quotes 28 mph for the Roamer. Our classes and laws guide covers why the missing number is not a detail.

Certification. Mars 3.0 (UL 2271 and UL 2849), Roamer (UL 2849), Ranger S (UL-certified battery). The EB5 and both GoTrax bikes state no standard on the sources we use.

The verdict by budget

Under $500: Jasion, with the EB5, and it is not close; nothing from the other two brands lives here. $500 to $1,000: Jasion again with the Roamer for most riders, GoTrax with the F3 if you pedal and want the torque sensor, GoTrax with the Ranger if you want fat tires. Past $1,000: Heybike, because the Mars 3.0 is the only bike here that genuinely justifies the extra money — provided you set the speed limit yourself, since Heybike will not tell you what it is. Our value e-bike brands guide puts all three in the wider context of the direct-to-consumer brands we cannot link.

Frequently asked questions

Is Heybike better than Jasion?

At the top of the bracket, yes: the Heybike Mars 3.0 has a torque sensor, full suspension and both UL listings, which no Jasion bike matches. Below $1,000 the answer flips: the Jasion Roamer offers UL 2849 certification, a 528 Wh pack and factory turn signals for less than any Heybike we list, and the EB5 is the cheapest real e-bike on the site.

Is GoTrax a good e-bike brand?

GoTrax's strength is that it publishes the weight, the load limit and the top speed for its bikes, which the other two brands do not consistently do. The F3 is a genuinely good road commuter with a torque sensor and a 672 Wh pack. The weakness is that we have not been able to pin a stable Amazon listing for either bike, so buy links go to a tagged search.

Which brand has the best battery for the money?

On published watt-hours per dollar at current prices, the Jasion Roamer (528 Wh) and the Heybike Ranger S (692 Wh) lead this comparison. Check the live price on each card, because the ranking moves with the prices.

Why does Heybike not publish a top speed for the Mars 3.0?

Heybike does not say. The Amazon listing title claims 32 mph, above the 28 mph Class 3 ceiling, and independent testing measured roughly that unrestricted. Treat it as a bike you must configure to a legal speed yourself before riding it on a bike path.

Which of these brands sells on Amazon?

All three, but not equally. Jasion and Heybike listings are pinned on this site with live prices. GoTrax bikes are linked through a tagged Amazon search because we could not pin a stable listing for either model.

Sources

Keep reading