Volt & Velo

How to Convert a Mountain Bike to Electric

An old hardtail is the best donor bike there is — if it has the right rear end. Six measurements decide whether a kit fits yours, and five of them take a tape measure and ten minutes.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

The short answer: a 1990s-to-2010s hardtail with 26-inch wheels, 135 mm quick-release rear dropouts and disc brakes is close to the ideal donor, and a rear hub kit will go straight into one. A modern trail bike with a 148 mm Boost thru-axle, a dropper post and a full-suspension rear end is the hardest case, and converting it is usually a worse idea than selling it and buying an e-bike. The kit to start from for a standard 26/27.5/29er donor is the Bafang 48 V 500/750 W rear hub kit; a fat-tire donor needs the 175 mm-spaced Bafang G062 fat kit instead.

Before you buy anything, take these six measurements. They are what decide the whole project, and getting one of them wrong is how a kit ends up going back: rear dropout spacing, dropout material and axle type, brake type and rotor mount, wheel size, bottom-bracket shell width (only if you are considering a mid-drive) and the space inside the frame triangle for the battery. Every one of them is in the sections below with how to measure it.

Our kit roundup has the four general fit checks that apply to any bicycle. This page is the mountain-bike version, because mountain bikes are where conversions actually fail: axle standards changed three times in fifteen years, suspension forks make front hubs a bad idea, and the frame that has the most room for a battery is the one least likely to have the right rear end. The three kits and the battery below come after the measurements, which is the order you should do this in.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, price and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
Bafang 48V 500W/750W Rear Hub Motor Kit

Bafang 48V 500W/750W Rear Hub Motor Kit

Bafang is the name behind a large share of the motors in this whole category, and buying the motor without the bike around it is the cheapest honest route to an e-bike if you already own a decent frame. Wheel sizes from 20 in to 29 in are covered.

Standard 26/27.5/29er donor
$203.66 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Bafang G062 48V 750W Fat-Tire Kit (20 x 4 in)

Bafang G062 48V 750W Fat-Tire Kit (20 x 4 in)

The specific kit for a fat-tire donor bike, which is where conversions usually fall down — 175 mm hub spacing is what a fat frame needs and what a standard kit does not offer. Cassette and disc-brake compatible, so you keep your gears.

Fat-tire donor (175 mm)
$299.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Varstrom 48V 500W/750W Geared Rear Hub Kit

Varstrom 48V 500W/750W Geared Rear Hub Kit

The cheaper way in, and geared rather than direct-drive — which means it freewheels when you stop pedaling, so the bike still rides like a bike when the battery is flat. That matters more on a conversion than on a purpose-built e-bike.

Cheapest kit that coasts
$163.88 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Unit Pack Power 48V Hailong Battery

Unit Pack Power 48V Hailong Battery

One of the most common aftermarket 'Hailong'-style 48 V packs for extending or replacing range on a value e-bike. Batteries are the one upgrade where you should not cut corners: match the voltage and connector to your bike, confirm the BMS and cell type, and strongly prefer a pack with a recognized safety certification.

The pack the kit does not include
$247.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 5, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Standard 26/27.5/29er donor

Bafang 48V 500W/750W Rear Hub Motor Kit

Bafang is the name behind a large share of the motors in this whole category, and buying the motor without the bike around it is the cheapest honest route to an e-bike if you already own a decent frame. Wheel sizes from 20 in to 29 in are covered.

What you get

  • Bafang parts and spares are the most widely supported in the category
  • Covers 20, 26, 27.5, 700C, 28 and 29 in wheels
  • Switchable between 500 W and 750 W output

Trade-offs

  • Check what the listing includes — a kit's price rarely includes a battery
  • Your donor frame needs disc-brake clearance and the right dropout spacing
Key spec48 V 500/750 W rear hub kit; fits 20/26/27.5/700C/28/29 in wheels
Best forConverting a bike you already own and trust

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Fat-tire donor (175 mm)

Bafang G062 48V 750W Fat-Tire Kit (20 x 4 in)

The specific kit for a fat-tire donor bike, which is where conversions usually fall down — 175 mm hub spacing is what a fat frame needs and what a standard kit does not offer. Cassette and disc-brake compatible, so you keep your gears.

What you get

  • 175 mm rear spacing built for fat-tire frames
  • Takes a cassette, so your existing gearing carries over
  • Disc-brake compatible rear wheel included in the kit

Trade-offs

  • Only fits 20 x 4 in fat wheels — measure before ordering
  • The most expensive kit here, and still without a battery
Key spec48 V 750 W fat-tire kit; 20 x 4 in rear wheel, 175 mm spacing, cassette + disc compatible
Best forConverting a fat-tire bike without re-spacing the frame

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Cheapest kit that coasts

Varstrom 48V 500W/750W Geared Rear Hub Kit

The cheaper way in, and geared rather than direct-drive — which means it freewheels when you stop pedaling, so the bike still rides like a bike when the battery is flat. That matters more on a conversion than on a purpose-built e-bike.

What you get

  • Geared hub freewheels, so there is no drag with the power off
  • Notably cheaper than the equivalent Bafang kit
  • Switchable 500 W / 750 W output

Trade-offs

  • Less brand support and fewer spares than Bafang
  • Battery is a separate purchase and usually the bigger half of the cost
Key spec48 V 500/750 W geared brushless rear hub kit
Best forThe lowest-cost conversion that still coasts properly

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on August 18, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4The pack the kit does not include

Unit Pack Power 48V Hailong Battery

One of the most common aftermarket 'Hailong'-style 48 V packs for extending or replacing range on a value e-bike. Batteries are the one upgrade where you should not cut corners: match the voltage and connector to your bike, confirm the BMS and cell type, and strongly prefer a pack with a recognized safety certification.

What you get

  • Common Hailong form factor fits many downtube mounts
  • Available in larger capacities (up to ~20 Ah) for real range gains

Trade-offs

  • Voltage, connector and mount must match your bike exactly
  • Not for Bosch/Shimano/Yamaha systems; no UL claim stated — insist on certification
Key spec48V lithium-ion (Hailong-style) pack; capacities up to ~20 Ah
Best forReplacing or extending a 48 V pack

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

1. Rear dropout spacing: the measurement that decides everything

Take the rear wheel out and measure between the inside faces of the rear dropouts, where the hub sits. Nearly every rear hub kit sold for conversions is built for 135 mm quick-release spacing, which is what mountain bikes used for roughly two decades and what makes an older hardtail such a good donor.

If you measure something else, note it before you shop. Modern frames use a thru-axle rear end — the axle threads into the frame rather than being clamped by a skewer — and the common widths are 142 mm and the wider 148 mm “Boost” standard. A 135 mm quick-release motor does not drop into either without an adapter, and the adapters that exist are not something we would trust under a 750 W motor on a trail. Fat bikes are wider again, and the fat kit here is the 175 mm answer.

Do not spread or squeeze an aluminium frame to make a motor fit. Steel frames tolerate a small amount of cold-setting in a frame shop; aluminium does not, and a cracked dropout on a 70 lb bike at 20 mph is not a theoretical risk. If the spacing does not match, the honest options are a different kit, a different donor, or a mid-drive.

2. Dropout material and axle type: where the torque arm comes in

A hub motor does not just spin the wheel; it tries to spin itself inside the dropout, and the reaction force wants to rotate the axle out of the slot. Steel dropouts resist that reasonably well. Aluminium dropouts chew out, and when they do, the axle climbs out of the dropout under power.

That is what a torque armprevents: a steel bracket that clamps to the axle and bolts or clamps to the frame, so the reaction load goes into the frame instead of into the dropout faces. On a 750 W kit, fitting one is not optional, and on an aluminium frame we would fit two — one each side — because a single arm still lets the axle work against one dropout. Most kits include something nominally for this purpose; the thin stamped ones are the first thing we would upgrade.

The related warning: do not put a hub motor in a suspension fork. The dropouts on a suspension fork are not designed for drive torque, they are thinner than a rear dropout, and the failure mode is the wheel leaving the bike. A rigid steel fork can take a front hub with proper torque arms. On a mountain bike, which almost certainly has a suspension fork, the answer is a rear hub or a mid-drive.

3. Brakes: disc, rotor pattern and whether rim brakes are enough

The kit includes a laced wheel, so its brake interface has to match yours. Check two things: whether your bike uses rim or disc brakes, and if disc, whether the rotor mounts with six bolts or a centerlock ring. Six-bolt is the pattern conversion wheels overwhelmingly use, and a centerlock rotor will not bolt to one — you would need a new rotor rather than a new wheel.

Rim brakes deserve a straight answer: they work, and they are marginal for a converted bike. You are adding roughly 20 lb of motor and battery, raising sustained speed, and asking a brake pad to clamp a wet aluminium rim rather than a steel rotor. A mid-1990s cantilever-brake mountain bike is the donor we would most strongly steer people away from. Our brakes guide explains what the different systems actually deliver in a panic stop, and it is worth reading before you convert anything with rim brakes.

4. Wheel size and what the freehub takes

Mountain bikes come in 26-inch, 27.5-inch and 29-inch wheels, and the kit’s wheel must match your tire and your frame. The Bafang kit here covers 20, 26, 27.5, 700C, 28 and 29-inch fitments, which is most of what you will encounter; the fat kit is 20 x 4 only.

The detail that catches people is the drivetrain interface. Older bikes use a freewheel— the ratchet is part of the sprocket cluster — and newer ones use a cassette on a freehub body. A motor built for one will not take the other. The fat kit here specifically states cassette compatibility, which is why your existing gearing carries over on that one. If your donor has an 8-, 9- or 10-speed cassette, check the kit states a cassette freehub before ordering, and if it has a 7-speed freewheel, check for that instead. And measure your chainline: a motor hub is wider than a normal hub, and a badly-dished wheel makes the small cogs unusable.

5. Bottom-bracket shell, if you are thinking mid-drive

A mid-drive motor replaces the bottom bracket and drives the cranks, which means it uses your existing gears. On a mountain bike that is genuinely appealing: the torque goes through the chainring, so a low gear multiplies motor torque the way it multiplies yours, which is exactly what you want on a steep loose climb. Hub motors cannot do that — their torque is fixed at the wheel no matter what gear you are in. Our hub versus mid-drive guide covers the trade-off properly.

The measurement is the shell width — typically 68 or 73 mm on a threaded mountain bike bottom bracket — plus whether the shell is threaded at all, because press-fit standards exist and complicate things. Be aware of the honest downsides before you go this way: mid-drives cost more, they put all the motor’s torque through a bicycle chain and cassette that will wear visibly faster, and the kits we currently list and can price are rear hub kits, not mid-drives. We are not going to recommend a mid-drive we have not researched.

6. Frame triangle: where the battery actually goes

This is the measurement people take last and should take first. A 48 V Hailong-style pack is a physically large object that bolts to a rail on the down tube, or straps to it. Measure the inside of your main triangle, and check whether you have bottle-cage bosses on the down tube — many 1990s frames have them, many modern ones put them somewhere awkward, and full-suspension frames often have no usable space at all because the shock is in it.

That is the real reason full-suspension conversions are a bad idea more often than not: not that the motor cannot work, but that the only place left for a 10 lb battery is a rear rack, which puts the heaviest single component high and behind the rear axle. The bike handles like a pendulum, and on a mountain bike that is being ridden off pavement it is worse than it sounds. A hardtail with a big open triangle is the frame you want.

What the whole job costs and takes

Three purchases, not one: the kit, the battery, and a charger if the pack does not come with one. The battery is normally the most expensive line, which is why kit-only listings look so cheap — our kits-with-a-battery page is the bundle version of this and covers what has to match between the two. Add a torque arm pair, a connector adapter you will probably need, and consumables: new brake pads, a chain, and cable ties.

Time: an afternoon if the measurements were right, a weekend if you are also replacing brake pads and re-routing cables, and considerably longer if you discover the spacing problem with the wheel in your hand. The fiddly parts are not the motor — that is a wheel swap — they are the pedal-assist sensor on the bottom bracket, the brake cut-off sensors, and tidying 2 m of wiring so nothing rubs. Our assembly guide covers the torque checks that apply to any newly-built e-bike, and they matter more on one you built yourself.

Is it legal once it is done?

It can be, and the law does not care who assembled it. The federal definition used in the National Park Service rule is a cycle with fully operable pedals and a motor of not more than 750 watts, inside a three-class system based on assisted speed. Both kits here switch between 500 W and 750 W, so a conversion can sit legitimately inside that definition. Configure the controller for more power or more speed and you have built something the three-class system does not cover, which is where trail access and insurance problems begin. Our classes and laws guide covers the state-level detail.

One thing a conversion can never have: a UL 2849 listing. That standard certifies a complete electrical system as built by a manufacturer, and on your bike that manufacturer is you. You can still buy a pack that publishes UL 2271, and you should prefer one that does. The CPSC’s charging guidance applies with extra force to a self-assembled system: charge on a hard surface, never unattended, never in the path you would use to get out of a bedroom.

When we would tell you not to bother

If the donor is a supermarket mountain bike, stop. A conversion costs the same whether the frame underneath is good or bad, and spending it on a bike with stamped dropouts, rim brakes and a bent derailleur hanger buys you an unsafe heavy bicycle. If the donor is a modern Boost thru-axle trail bike you actually ride, also stop — you will spend more than a complete value e-bike costs to make a worse mountain bike.

The conversion is worth it when the frame is genuinely good and you want that bike electrified: a steel tourer, a beloved hardtail, a cargo bike, a bike that fits you unusually well. Our is-a-kit-worth-it guide does the arithmetic against buying a complete bike, and our under-$1,000 roundup is the honest comparison point.

Frequently asked questions

Can you convert any mountain bike to electric?

No. The limiting factor is the rear end: most rear hub kits are built for 135 mm quick-release dropout spacing, and a modern 142 mm or 148 mm Boost thru-axle frame will not take one without an adapter we would not trust under power. Aluminium dropouts also need a torque arm, rim brakes are marginal once you add the weight and speed, and a full-suspension frame often has nowhere to put the battery.

What is the best mountain bike to convert?

A hardtail from roughly the mid-1990s to the mid-2010s with 26-inch wheels, 135 mm quick-release rear dropouts, disc brakes and a big open frame triangle. That combination takes a standard rear hub kit without adapters, has somewhere for the battery to live, and has brakes that can cope with the extra weight.

Front or rear hub motor for a mountain bike?

Rear. A front hub motor puts drive torque into suspension-fork dropouts that were never designed for it, and the failure mode is the wheel coming out of the fork. If a front hub is the only option for your frame, it needs a rigid steel fork and proper torque arms — and on a mountain bike, which almost certainly has a suspension fork, the answer is a rear hub or a mid-drive.

Do I need a torque arm?

On a 750 W kit, yes, and on aluminium dropouts we would fit a pair. A hub motor's reaction torque tries to rotate the axle out of the dropout; a torque arm transfers that load into the frame instead. The thin stamped brackets included with some kits are the first thing worth upgrading.

Can you convert a full-suspension mountain bike?

Technically yes, practically rarely worth it. The shock usually occupies the space a down-tube battery needs, which leaves a rear-rack pack — the heaviest component high up and behind the rear axle, which handles badly off pavement. A hardtail is the better donor by a wide margin.

How much does it cost to convert a mountain bike?

Three purchases: the kit, the battery and often a charger, with the battery normally the largest of the three. Add torque arms, a connector adapter and consumables like brake pads and a chain. Our kits-with-a-battery page lists live prices for each part so you can total the real figure on the day you buy rather than trusting an estimate.

Will a 29er kit fit a 26-inch bike?

No — the kit includes a laced wheel, so the wheel size has to match your frame and tires. Read the fitment list before ordering: the Bafang kit here covers 20, 26, 27.5, 700C, 28 and 29-inch wheels as separate options, and the fat-tire kit is 20 x 4 only. Also check whether the motor takes a cassette or a freewheel, because that has to match your existing drivetrain.

Sources

  • U.S. National Park Service — Electric Bicycles (e-bikes) in National Parks — The NPS final regulation (published in the Federal Register November 2, 2020, effective December 2, 2020) defines an electric bicycle as a two- or three-wheeled cycle with fully operable pedals and an electric motor of not more than 750 watts, and establishes the three-class system. Superintendents may allow e-bikes where traditional bicycles are allowed; e-bikes may NOT be used where traditional bicycles are prohibited; both traditional bikes and e-bikes are prohibited in wilderness areas by federal statute; and superintendents may restrict, impose conditions on, or close locations to e-bike use, including opening a road or trail to some classes but not others. Class 2 riders are prohibited from using the throttle exclusively for an extended period without pedaling, except in locations open to public motor-vehicle use (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • U.S. CPSC — Micromobility Information Center (e-bike battery safety) — CPSC guidance on lithium-ion battery safety and buying e-bikes/batteries certified to UL 2849 / UL 2271 / UL 2272 (accessed July 22, 2026)
  • PeopleForBikes — Electric Bike Policies & Laws — The 3-class e-bike system (Class 1/2 to 20 mph, Class 3 to 28 mph), access rules and the state-by-state law reference (accessed July 22, 2026)

Keep reading