Volt & Velo

Best E-Bikes for Trail Riding and Rail Trails

On a trail, the spec that decides whether you can ride at all is the one most budget makers leave blank: the e-bike class. Four value bikes ranked on the class their maker publishes first, then on tire width, then on the watt-hours you cannot top up at a trailhead.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Buy the GoTrax F3 if you ride trails. It is the only bike here you can set to Class 1 for the strictest paths and back to Class 3 for the road home, and its 672 Wh battery is the second-largest in this bracket that also publishes a weight. If your riding is a paved or crushed-stone rail trail and nothing rougher, the Retrospec Chatham Rev is the cheaper, simpler answer: a fixed Class 2 bike with both UL certifications and an upright cruiser position.

Why class comes before tires

Almost every “best e-bike for trails” list ranks on suspension and tire width. That is the right order for a mountain-bike trail and the wrong order for the trails most people actually ride, because on public land the first question is not whether the bike can get up the hill. It is whether the bike is allowed on the trail, and the rules are written in terms of class.

The National Park Service rule defines an e-bike as a two- or three-wheeled cycle with fully operable pedals and a motor of not more than 750 watts, and lets superintendents allow e-bikes where traditional bicycles are allowed — while also letting them open a road or trail to some classes and not others. The Bureau of Land Management amended its off-road-vehicle regulations in December 2020 to define Class 1, 2 and 3 e-bikes, and says in its own words that the rule does not, by itself, open any non-motorized trail to e-bike use. State and county rail trails, which is where most of this riding happens, set their own rules on top — and they are usually written as “Class 1 and 2 only” or “no Class 3.”

Which makes the finding below the most useful thing on this page: five of the thirteen value e-bikes in our registry publish no class at all. Not an unclear class — none. If a sign at the trailhead says “Class 1 and 2 permitted” and your bike’s maker never stated a class, you have no document to point at, and a 28 mph throttle bike is going to be read as Class 3 whatever the listing calls it.

Then the surface, then the range

After class, two things in order. Tire width, because a rail trail is usually crushed limestone or packed cinder rather than pavement, and a narrow tire at high pressure skates on loose stone. And watt-hours, because a trail day is an out-and-back with no outlet at the turnaround — use about 20 watt-hours per mile, our planning figure throughout this site, and halve the result for an out-and-back so you are not pedaling a dead 60 lb bike home.

Every class, capacity, weight and tire description below is the maker’s or the listing’s own, dated in our registry. We have ridden none of these bikes on any trail and we do not pretend otherwise. This is our method.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, price and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
A rider on a commuter electric bike on a city street

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

Best overall: the only adjustable class
2
A rider on a commuter electric bike on a city street

Retrospec Chatham Rev

The Chatham Rev is the value commuter for people who care how a bike looks: a clean beach-cruiser silhouette, a UL2849/UL2271-certified 360 Wh system and an upright, comfortable ride. Modest 350 W power, but honest specs and safety certification you don't always get at this price.

Best for paved and crushed-stone rail trails
3
A rider on a commuter electric bike on a city street

GoTrax Ranger

At its usual sub-$900 street price the Ranger is the value-buyer's default: a 500 W hub motor, a ~499 Wh battery and fat tires that shrug off potholes, with a thumb throttle for the days you don't want to pedal. You give up finesse, not capability.

Best on loose and rough surfaces
4
Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

A 20-inch folding fat-tire bike with a switchable class and a 614 Wh battery, aimed at riders who want one bike that legally adapts to where they ride. The claimed 62-mile range is optimistic, but the switchable Class 1/2/3 is a genuinely useful feature at this price.

Best fat-tire bike with a class switch
$688.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 17, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall: the only adjustable class

GoTrax F3

The F3 is the surprise of GoTrax's line: a torque-sensor commuter with a 672 Wh battery and a selectable class that lets you unlock 28 mph pedal-assist. For a road-focused rider who wants smooth power without fat-tire bulk, it's a lot of bike for the money.

What you get

  • 672 Wh battery supports a claimed 60-mile range
  • Torque sensor delivers smoother, more natural assist than cheap cadence sensors
  • Selectable Class 1/2/3 lets you run it legally where you ride

Trade-offs

  • Skinnier tires mean less cushion than a fat-tire model
  • Original F3 used a smaller battery — confirm you're getting the current 2.0
  • 28 mph assist is Class 3, which is barred from some paths
Rated motor500 W
Battery672 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 60 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
Weight58.3 lb
ClassClass 1/2/3 (selectable, torque sensor)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best for paved and crushed-stone rail trails

Retrospec Chatham Rev

The Chatham Rev is the value commuter for people who care how a bike looks: a clean beach-cruiser silhouette, a UL2849/UL2271-certified 360 Wh system and an upright, comfortable ride. Modest 350 W power, but honest specs and safety certification you don't always get at this price.

What you get

  • UL2849 (bike) and UL2271 (battery) certified — a real safety signal on a budget e-bike
  • Upright cruiser geometry is comfortable and beginner-friendly
  • Reasonable ~58 lb weight for a fat-ish cruiser

Trade-offs

  • 350 W and 360 Wh — the least powerful, shortest-range pick here
  • 20 mph top assist only (Class 2)
  • 350 W is modest for the bike's 58 lb; not built for big hills
Rated motor350 W
Battery360 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 42 mi
Top assisted speed20 mph
Weight58 lb
ClassClass 2 (throttle + pedal assist)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best on loose and rough surfaces

GoTrax Ranger

At its usual sub-$900 street price the Ranger is the value-buyer's default: a 500 W hub motor, a ~499 Wh battery and fat tires that shrug off potholes, with a thumb throttle for the days you don't want to pedal. You give up finesse, not capability.

What you get

  • 500 W motor and a claimed 50-mile range that covers most commutes on pedal-assist
  • Fat tires soak up bad pavement and gravel without a suspension upgrade
  • Thumb throttle plus 5-level pedal assist — genuinely no-pedal capable

Trade-offs

  • Heavy at ~70 lb, so carrying it up stairs is a two-person job
  • Basic mechanical disc brakes and no included rack or fenders
  • GoTrax doesn't formally state an e-bike class
Rated motor500 W
Battery499 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 50 mi
Top assisted speed20 mph
Weight69.7 lb
ClassClass 2 (throttle + pedal assist)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best fat-tire bike with a class switch

Aipas A2 Folding Fat-Tire

A 20-inch folding fat-tire bike with a switchable class and a 614 Wh battery, aimed at riders who want one bike that legally adapts to where they ride. The claimed 62-mile range is optimistic, but the switchable Class 1/2/3 is a genuinely useful feature at this price.

What you get

  • Switchable Class 1/2/3 to stay legal on different paths
  • 614 Wh battery and a claimed 62-mile range
  • Step-through fat-tire folder is versatile and comfortable

Trade-offs

  • Aipas doesn't publish a weight
  • Peak vs rated wattage is described inconsistently in listings
  • A less-established brand than GoTrax or Heybike
Rated motor750 W
Battery614 Wh
Claimed rangeUp to 62 mi
Top assisted speed28 mph
WeightNot published
ClassClass 1/2/3 (selectable)

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on July 22, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

Class, tires, capacity and weight side by side

Six bikes, including two that are popular for trail use and should not be. The blank cells are the point.

BikePublished classTiresBatteryWeight
GoTrax F3Class 1/2/3 selectableSkinnier road tires672 Wh58.3 lb
Retrospec Chatham RevClass 2 (20 mph)Wide cruiser tires360 Wh58 lb
GoTrax RangerClass 2 (20 mph)Fat tires499 Wh69.7 lb
Aipas A2 Folding Fat-TireClass 1/2/3 selectable20-inch fat tires614 WhNot published
Jasion RoamerNot publishedRoad tires528 WhNot published
SASIKEIBIKE 20-inch folderNot published20 x 4 fat tires1,040 WhNot published

The SASIKEIBIKE row is the one that hurts. A 1,040 Wh pack on 20 × 4 tires is, on paper, the trail bike of the whole bracket — roughly 50 planning-figure miles and a tire that floats over loose stone. SASIKEIBIKE publishes neither a weight nor a class, which means you cannot check it against a trailhead sign and cannot check it against a rack rating either. It is a terrific bike to own and a hard bike to recommend for regulated trails.

Three kinds of trail, three different answers

“Trail” covers at least three surfaces, and the right bike is not the same for each.

  • Rail trails — paved or crushed stone. Flat, long, usually busy, and almost always restricted by class. This is the easiest riding on this page and it rewards efficiency rather than torque: the Chatham or the F3. You do not need fat tires, and the extra rolling resistance costs you miles.
  • Gravel, forest road, towpath.Loose surface, potholes, roots at the edges. Tire width starts to matter more than watt-hours, so this is the Ranger or the Aipas. Drop the pressure a few psi from the sidewall maximum — our tire-pressure guide explains why that is the single cheapest comfort upgrade there is.
  • Singletrack and mountain-bike trails.Be honest with yourself: no bike on this page belongs there. Value e-bikes have hardtail or rigid frames, mechanical or entry hydraulic brakes and 60–70 lb of mass, and most purpose-built MTB trails exclude Class 2 throttle bikes anyway. If that is the riding you want, our e-bike vs mountain bike guideis the honest read, and the answer is often a conversion kit on a real mountain bike — see converting a mountain bike.

Check the trail before you buy the bike

Thirty seconds of homework beats a $700 mistake. The rules come from whoever manages the trail, not from a national standard, so check in this order.

  1. The trail’s own page. State parks, county park districts and rail-trail conservancies publish an e-bike line, and it is usually explicit about classes.
  2. The land manager, if it is federal. NPS units are superintendent-by-superintendent; BLM land needs a specific decision before a non-motorized trail is open to e-bikes, and OHV areas are open already.
  3. Your state law. Most states have adopted the three-class system, and some set the default path access in statute. Our classes and laws guide lays out what each class means and where the common exclusions fall.
  4. The sign at the trailhead. It overrides your reading of all of the above on the day.

One practical note on Class 2. The NPS rule prohibits using a throttle exclusively for an extended period without pedaling, except where public motor vehicles are allowed. So a throttle bike is not banned on NPS trails, but throttling along for miles without turning the pedals is — which, in practice, is how a lot of people ride a Class 2 bike.

What to carry, because there is nothing at the turnaround

A trail is the one place where a flat tire is a four-mile walk pushing a bike that weighs as much as you do. Three things earn their space: a multi-tool, a pump or inflator with the right valve, and a tube that matches your tire. Our flat-tire guide covers the part that is genuinely harder on an e-bike: a rear hub-motor wheel is heavy, it is wired to the frame, and the axle nuts are often torqued above what a bike torque wrench reaches.

Also take more battery than you think. The planning figure assumes sensible assist on rolling ground; crushed stone, soft sand and a headwind all push consumption up, and a fat tire pushes it up before you leave the car park. If your rides are consistently longer than a tank, how to increase e-bike range runs through the four fixes that work, cheapest first.

What we would actually buy

For most trail riders: the GoTrax F3.The class switch is the feature, not a gimmick — set it to Class 1 at a trail that says Class 1 only, set it to Class 3 for the road. 672 Wh is roughly 33 planning-figure miles, the torque sensor is nicer than a cadence sensor on a varying surface, and at 58.3 lb it is one of the few bikes here you can actually lift onto a rack.

For rail trails on a budget: the Retrospec Chatham Rev.Fixed Class 2, both UL listings published, upright and comfortable. 360 Wh is the constraint — call it 18 planning-figure miles, so a nine-mile-out rail-trail ride with a margin.

For rough surfaces under $1,000: the GoTrax Ranger.Fat tires and a stated Class 2, at the cost of 69.7 lb, which you will feel on every lift.

If you want fat tires and a class switch: the Aipas A2.The only bike that offers both, with the honest caveat that Aipas publishes no weight at all — so plan the rack before you plan the ride.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best e-bike for trail riding?

Of the value bikes we track, the GoTrax F3, because it is the only one with a selectable class: you can set it to Class 1 for a trail that permits Class 1 only and back to Class 3 for the road home, and its 672 Wh battery is roughly 33 miles at our 20 Wh-per-mile planning figure. For paved or crushed-stone rail trails and nothing rougher, the cheaper Retrospec Chatham Rev is a fixed Class 2 bike with both UL certifications published.

Are e-bikes allowed on rail trails?

Often, but it depends on the trail's manager and on your bike's class, and that is set locally rather than nationally. Many state and county rail trails publish a rule in the form of 'Class 1 and 2 permitted, no Class 3'. Check the trail's own page first, then your state law, then the sign at the trailhead - the sign wins on the day.

Can you ride an e-bike on National Park or BLM trails?

On NPS land, e-bikes are allowed where traditional bicycles are allowed unless a superintendent decides otherwise, and superintendents may open a route to some classes and not others; e-bikes are never allowed where bicycles are prohibited, including wilderness areas. On BLM land the December 2020 rule defines Class 1, 2 and 3 e-bikes but, in the BLM's own words, does not by itself open any non-motorized trail to e-bike use - a local decision is needed first. OHV areas and motorized trails are open already.

Do I need a fat-tire e-bike for trails?

Only for loose or soft surfaces. On a paved or well-packed crushed-stone rail trail, fat tires cost you watt-hours per mile and weight and buy you nothing; a wide cruiser tire at slightly reduced pressure is plenty. On gravel, sand, towpath or light snow they genuinely help, which is where the GoTrax Ranger and the Aipas A2 earn their place on this page.

How far can an e-bike go on a trail?

Plan on about 20 watt-hours per mile and halve the result for an out-and-back: 360 Wh is roughly 18 miles total, 672 Wh roughly 33, and the 1,040 Wh SASIKEIBIKE pack roughly 50. Crushed stone, soft sand, a headwind and fat tires all push consumption above the planning figure, and the box claims of 40-60 miles assume none of them.

Why does my e-bike's class matter more than its specs on a trail?

Because trail access rules are written in terms of class, not watts or tire width. Five of the thirteen value e-bikes in our registry publish no class at all - so if a sign says Class 1 and 2 only, their owners have nothing to point at, and a 28 mph throttle bike will be read as Class 3 regardless of what the listing calls it. A bike with a published class, or better a selectable one, is the one that can legally follow you to a new trail.

Sources

  • U.S. National Park Service — Electric Bicycles (e-bikes) in National Parks — The NPS final regulation (published in the Federal Register November 2, 2020, effective December 2, 2020) defines an electric bicycle as a two- or three-wheeled cycle with fully operable pedals and an electric motor of not more than 750 watts, and establishes the three-class system. Superintendents may allow e-bikes where traditional bicycles are allowed; e-bikes may NOT be used where traditional bicycles are prohibited; both traditional bikes and e-bikes are prohibited in wilderness areas by federal statute; and superintendents may restrict, impose conditions on, or close locations to e-bike use, including opening a road or trail to some classes but not others. Class 2 riders are prohibited from using the throttle exclusively for an extended period without pedaling, except in locations open to public motor-vehicle use (accessed October 5, 2026)
  • U.S. Bureau of Land Management - E-Bikes on BLM-Managed Public Lands — BLM defines an e-bike as a bicycle with an electric motor of not more than 750 watts (one horsepower), two or three wheels, and fully operable pedals. In December 2020 the BLM amended its off-road-vehicle regulations at 43 CFR 8340.0-5 to define e-bikes, limited to Class 1, 2 and 3. Authorized officers MAY authorize Class 1, 2 and 3 e-bike use on non-motorized roads and trails through later land-use planning or implementation-level decisions - but, in the BLM's own words, the rule does not, by itself, open any non-motorized trail to e-bike use. E-bikes are allowed in motorized areas and on OHV trails; the page directs riders to contact the local BLM office for site-specific rules (accessed October 17, 2026)
  • PeopleForBikes — Electric Bike Policies & Laws — The 3-class e-bike system (Class 1/2 to 20 mph, Class 3 to 28 mph), access rules and the state-by-state law reference (accessed July 22, 2026)
  • U.S. CPSC — Micromobility Information Center (e-bike battery safety) — CPSC guidance on lithium-ion battery safety and buying e-bikes/batteries certified to UL 2849 / UL 2271 / UL 2272 (accessed July 22, 2026)

Keep reading