Volt & Velo

Best E-Bike Kickstands

A 70 lb bike on a bicycle kickstand falls over, and the replacement you buy is decided by two bolt holes. Five stands ranked on the mount spec first and published load capacity second.

By Stephen V.Last updated How we pick

Before you read any further: go and measure the distance between the two bolt holes on your bike’s kickstand plate. That one number — almost always 18 mm or 40 mm on a value e-bike — decides which of these stands you can buy, and it overrules every other consideration on this page. A 40 mm stand on an 18 mm frame is not a tight fit or a compromise. It does not bolt on.

With that measured: buy the RBRL E-Bike Kickstand if your plate is drilled at 40 mm — it is the only stand here that publishes both the mount spacing and a load capacity with real margin (187 lb against published bike weights of 49.6 to 75 lb across our registry). Buy the Sataway if yours is 18 mm, which is the same product category and the only one that states that spacing in the listing. If your frame has a center plate behind the bottom bracket instead of a chainstay plate, the BV is the pick, with one number you need to read first.

Here is this page’s uncomfortable finding. Only two of these five stands publish a load capacity at all, and the one sold hardest as heavy duty for e-bikes publishes 77 lb — which is 2 lb more than the Heybike Mars 2.0 in our registry weighs before you hang a pannier on it. None of the five cites a test standard, and none states whether its figure means the bike’s total weight or the static load on the stand. Every spec here was read from the listing on October 17, 2026, and all five were confirmed in stock that day. This is our method.

How this is funded:we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you plainly when to skip one. Full disclosure.

Quick picks

Ranked on published specs, price and buyer fit. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We have not ridden every one of these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forPrice
1
RBRL E-Bike Kickstand (rear side stand, 187 lb, 1.57 in 2-hole mount)

RBRL E-Bike Kickstand (rear side stand, 187 lb, 1.57 in 2-hole mount)

The only stand here that publishes BOTH the number you need to check fit (a 2-hole chainstay mount at 1.57 in / 40 mm spacing) and a load capacity with real margin over what a value e-bike weighs (187 lb against published bike weights of 49.6 to 75 lb). That combination is the whole job, and it is why this is the pick for most people replacing a bent factory stand.

Best overall (40 mm frames)
$21.95 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Sataway Rear Mount Kickstand (18 mm hole spacing only)

Sataway Rear Mount Kickstand (18 mm hole spacing only)

This is the page's fitment lesson wearing a product label. The listing name ends with the words that matter - for 18 mm hole distance only - and that is the single most useful sentence in this whole category. If you measure your frame's plate and the holes are 18 mm apart, this is your stand and the RBRL is not. If they are 40 mm apart, the reverse is true, and no amount of adjustability fixes it.

Best for 18 mm frames
$23.96 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
BV Bike Stand Heavy Duty for E-Bike (center mount, 77 lb)

BV Bike Stand Heavy Duty for E-Bike (center mount, 77 lb)

A center-mount stand from the one established brand in this category, and the pick when your frame has a center plate behind the bottom bracket rather than a chainstay plate. Read the published figure before you buy it, though: BV states support up to 77 lb, and the Heybike Mars 2.0 in our registry publishes 75 lb before you hang anything on it. That is 2 lb of margin, which is the honest reason it is second and not first.

Best center mount
$39.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Lumintrail Center Mount Double Leg Kickstand (24-29 in)

Lumintrail Center Mount Double Leg Kickstand (24-29 in)

A double-leg stand is a different tool: it lifts the rear wheel clear and holds the bike upright on both sides, which is what you want for cleaning a chain, fitting a rack or loading a pannier without the bike walking off its stand. That stability is the reason to buy one, and the trade is weight, a center-mount requirement and a published capacity you will not find.

Best for working on the bike
$29.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
N+1 Bike Kickstand (rear side mount, adjustable, 26-29 in)

N+1 Bike Kickstand (rear side mount, adjustable, 26-29 in)

Sold explicitly for e-bikes and heavy bikes, aluminum alloy, adjustable length, rear side mount, 26-29 in. Everything about the description is right and it publishes no load figure whatsoever, which is the only thing keeping it off the top of this page. If the RBRL is out of stock this is the same fitment story without the number.

Backup rear-mount pick
$28.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 18, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best overall (40 mm frames)

RBRL E-Bike Kickstand (rear side stand, 187 lb, 1.57 in 2-hole mount)

The only stand here that publishes BOTH the number you need to check fit (a 2-hole chainstay mount at 1.57 in / 40 mm spacing) and a load capacity with real margin over what a value e-bike weighs (187 lb against published bike weights of 49.6 to 75 lb). That combination is the whole job, and it is why this is the pick for most people replacing a bent factory stand.

What you get

  • 187 lb published load capacity - roughly two and a half times the heaviest two-wheel bike in our registry
  • Publishes the mount spec that decides fit: 2 holes, 1.57 in (40 mm) apart, chainstay mount
  • Height adjustable, and specified for 26-29 in wheels
  • Aluminum rather than stamped steel, so it is not the part that rusts first on a winter bike

Trade-offs

  • The 1.57 in / 40 mm hole spacing is NOT universal - measure your frame's plate before ordering, because an 18 mm-spacing frame cannot take it
  • No test standard cited behind the 187 lb figure, and no statement of whether it means bike weight or static load
  • Rear side mount only, so it does nothing for a frame with a center-mount plate
  • Specified for 26-29 in wheels, which rules out 20 in folders and fat-tire 20 x 4 in builds
Key specRear chainstay side stand; 187 lb published load capacity (no test standard cited); 2-hole mount at 1.57 in (40 mm) spacing; height adjustable; aluminum; for 26-29 in wheels
Best forReplacing a bent factory kickstand on a rear-mount frame

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#2Best for 18 mm frames

Sataway Rear Mount Kickstand (18 mm hole spacing only)

This is the page's fitment lesson wearing a product label. The listing name ends with the words that matter - for 18 mm hole distance only - and that is the single most useful sentence in this whole category. If you measure your frame's plate and the holes are 18 mm apart, this is your stand and the RBRL is not. If they are 40 mm apart, the reverse is true, and no amount of adjustability fixes it.

What you get

  • States its required hole spacing (18 mm) in the listing name, which almost nothing else in this category does
  • Adjustable, aluminum alloy, specified for 26 / 700C / 27.5 / 28 / 29 in wheels
  • Sold for electric bikes as well as mountain and adult bikes
  • Cheaper than both center-mount picks

Trade-offs

  • Fits ONLY an 18 mm hole spacing - on a 40 mm frame it is a return, not a compromise
  • NO published load capacity
  • Same brand sells a separate 40 mm version, so ordering the wrong one is genuinely easy
  • No test standard and no stated material grade beyond aluminum alloy
Key specRear-mount kickstand; requires 18 mm bolt-hole spacing (stated in the listing); NO load capacity published; adjustable; aluminum alloy; for 26-29 in and 700C wheels
Best forFrames whose chainstay plate is drilled at 18 mm

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#3Best center mount

BV Bike Stand Heavy Duty for E-Bike (center mount, 77 lb)

A center-mount stand from the one established brand in this category, and the pick when your frame has a center plate behind the bottom bracket rather than a chainstay plate. Read the published figure before you buy it, though: BV states support up to 77 lb, and the Heybike Mars 2.0 in our registry publishes 75 lb before you hang anything on it. That is 2 lb of margin, which is the honest reason it is second and not first.

What you get

  • Center mount, which is the fitment the rear-stand picks cannot serve
  • Publishes a load figure at all (77 lb), which three of the five stands here do not
  • Adjustable and foldable, specified for 24-28 in wheels
  • BV is an established bike-accessory brand rather than a listing that appeared this year

Trade-offs

  • 77 lb published support is barely above the heaviest two-wheel bike in our registry (75 lb) and below all three trikes - no margin for a loaded pannier or a child seat
  • Most expensive stand on this page
  • Center mount needs a frame plate behind the bottom bracket, which plenty of value e-bikes do not have
  • No test standard cited, and no statement of whether 77 lb is bike weight or static load
Key specCenter-mount kickstand; supports up to 77 lb published (no test standard cited); adjustable and foldable; for 24-28 in wheels
Best forCenter-mount frames, from the one brand with a history here

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#4Best for working on the bike

Lumintrail Center Mount Double Leg Kickstand (24-29 in)

A double-leg stand is a different tool: it lifts the rear wheel clear and holds the bike upright on both sides, which is what you want for cleaning a chain, fitting a rack or loading a pannier without the bike walking off its stand. That stability is the reason to buy one, and the trade is weight, a center-mount requirement and a published capacity you will not find.

What you get

  • Two legs, so the bike stands upright instead of leaning - the difference between loading a pannier and catching a falling bike
  • Lifts the rear wheel on many frames, which makes a chain clean or a lube job possible without a stand
  • Adjustable height, specified for 24-29 in adult bikes
  • Long-established listing from a brand that sells other bike hardware

Trade-offs

  • NO published load capacity, which matters more on a double-leg stand because people load the bike once it is upright
  • Center mount required, and the legs can foul a chainstay-mounted motor cable or a mid-drive on some frames
  • Heavier than any single-leg stand here, on a bike that is already heavy
  • Listing names cruiser, road and hybrid bikes - it does not claim e-bike suitability at all
Key specCenter-mount double-leg kickstand; NO load capacity published; adjustable height; for 24-29 in adult bikes; no e-bike claim made
Best forStanding the bike up straight to work on it or load it

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

#5Backup rear-mount pick

N+1 Bike Kickstand (rear side mount, adjustable, 26-29 in)

Sold explicitly for e-bikes and heavy bikes, aluminum alloy, adjustable length, rear side mount, 26-29 in. Everything about the description is right and it publishes no load figure whatsoever, which is the only thing keeping it off the top of this page. If the RBRL is out of stock this is the same fitment story without the number.

What you get

  • Sold for eBikes and heavy bikes rather than adapted from a bicycle listing
  • Adjustable length and aluminum alloy, specified for 26-29 in wheels
  • Rear side mount, the most common factory fitment on a value e-bike
  • A rear mount, so it raises none of the crank-clearance questions the center-mount picks do

Trade-offs

  • NO published load capacity at all, which on a 70 lb bike is the one number you wanted
  • Hole spacing is not stated in the listing either, so fit has to be confirmed from the product page or by measuring and returning
  • No test standard, naturally, since there is no figure to test
  • Specified for 26-29 in wheels only
Key specRear side-mount kickstand; NO load capacity published; hole spacing not stated; adjustable length; aluminum alloy; for 26-29 in wheels
Best forThe backup rear-mount pick

Specs read from the manufacturer or retailer listing, on October 17, 2026. “Not published” means the maker does not state that figure.

How we picked

We ranked on fitment first and published load second, in that order, and the order is the argument. Load capacity is a number you can be disappointed by. Fitment is a number that makes the part useless.

Three fitment facts decide everything:

  • Rear mount or center mount. A rear-mount (side) stand bolts to a small plate welded to the left chainstay, behind the bottom bracket and ahead of the rear axle. A center-mount stand clamps to a plate directly under the bottom bracket. Your frame has one or the other, not both, and a stand for the wrong one has nowhere to go.
  • Bolt-hole spacing, for rear mounts. The plate has two holes. Measure center to center. 18 mm and 40 mm (1.57 in) are the two common figures, and the stand you buy must match. This is the single most common reason a kickstand gets returned, and it is the reason the Sataway earns a place on this page for saying so in its listing name.
  • Wheel size, which sets the length you need. A stand specified for 26-29 in wheels is too long for a 20 in folder and too short to hold a fat-tire 20 x 4 in build upright at a useful angle. Every stand here publishes a wheel range; check yours against it.

Then, and only then, the load figure. We compared each published capacity against the published weights of the bikes in our own registry, which run from 49.6 lb (the Jasion EB5) to 75 lb (the Heybike Mars 2.0) for two-wheel bikes, with the trikes at 93 to 110.2 lb. Five of the nineteen e-bikes and trikes in the registry publish no weight at all, which means for those bikes you cannot check a kickstand rating against anything — a gap worth knowing about before you shop.

What each one publishes

StandMountBolt spacingPublished loadWheel range
RBRL E-Bike KickstandRear chainstay, 2-hole1.57 in (40 mm)187 lb26-29 in
BV Heavy Duty for E-BikeCentern/a (center plate)77 lb24-28 in
N+1 KickstandRear sideNot publishedNot published26-29 in
Lumintrail Double LegCenter, two legsn/a (center plate)Not published24-29 in
Sataway Rear MountRear, 2-hole18 mm onlyNot published26-29 in, 700C

Three “Not published” entries in the load column is the state of the category, not an oversight in our research. And the two figures that do exist are not comparable to each other in any rigorous way, because neither listing says whether the number is the weight of the bike it will hold up or the force the leg is rated to take. Those are different quantities: a side stand holds a leaning bike, so it carries a fraction of the bike’s weight as a vertical load and a share of it as a bending moment. We report both figures as published and we do not convert between them, because converting would mean inventing the assumption that does the work.

Why a bicycle kickstand fails on an e-bike

It is not usually that the leg snaps. Four things happen instead, and all four are about geometry and mass rather than material:

  • The footprint is too small for the weight. A 50 lb bicycle leaning on a narrow foot is stable on tarmac. A 70 lb e-bike with a 10 lb battery high in the frame has more mass and a higher center of gravity, and the foot sinks into gravel, grass or hot asphalt and the bike goes over.
  • The lean angle is wrong once the bike is heavier. A stand that is slightly too long holds the bike nearly upright, which feels fine until a breeze or a passing van pushes it past vertical and it falls to the other side. This is why every pick here is length-adjustable.
  • Loading changes everything. Hang a full pannieron one side of a bike that is already leaning that way and the margin disappears. If you shop by bike — see our grocery guide— this is the failure you will actually meet.
  • The mount plate bends before the leg does. On a cheap frame the welded plate is the weak link. A stand that spreads load across two bolts at the correct spacing is kinder to it than one shimmed onto the wrong spacing with a washer stack, which is the other reason spacing matters.

Rear mount, center mount, or two legs?

Rear side mount is what most value e-bikes come with and what most owners should replace like for like. It is light, it is out of the way of the cranks, and it does not interfere with a chainstay-routed motor cable. It holds the bike leaning.

Center mount puts the stand under the bottom bracket, which gives a more central and often more stable lean, and on a frame with a center plate it is the only option. Watch two things: the legs are closer to the cranks, so a long leg can catch a pedal at the bottom of the stroke, and on a mid-drive conversion there may be no clearance at all. Our motor guide explains which bikes that applies to.

A double-leg center stand is a different tool again. It holds the bike upright on both legs and, on many frames, lifts the rear wheel clear of the ground. That is what you want for cleaning a chain, fitting a rack or loading both panniers without the bike walking off its stand. The trade is weight and crank clearance, and the Lumintrail here publishes no load figure. If you mainly want the bike held up to work on it, a dedicated repair standis the better purchase — that page covers the stands whose published capacity actually clears an e-bike.

How to measure your frame in two minutes

1. Find the plate. Lay the bike on its right side (chain up) and look at the left chainstay, just behind the bottom bracket. A rear-mount frame has a flat tab with two threaded holes. A center-mount frame has a flat pad directly under the bottom bracket shell instead.

2. Measure center to center. Put a steel rule across the two holes and read the distance between their centers. You are looking to land on 18 mm or 40 mm; anything in between means measure again, because those are the two spacings the aftermarket actually sells.

3. Note your wheel size and your bolt size.The wheel size is printed on the tire sidewall. The bolt is usually M5 or M6 — most stands ship the bolt, but knowing which you have saves a second order.

4. Torque it properly when you fit it. This is a frame fastener on a heavy bike that vibrates, and both over- and under-tightening it are real failures: strip the thread in a soft alloy plate and there is no second chance. Use the figure in your manual and a torque wrench, and check it again after the first week along with everything else on the maintenance checklist.

What we would skip

Any stand with no published wheel range.Length is the whole game on a kickstand and “universal” is not a length.

Plastic-footed bicycle stands sold on price alone. The foot is the part that sinks, and the one that cracks when the bike is dropped onto it once.

A stand for a fat-tire bike that is specified for 26-29 in wheels. A 20 x 4 in fat-tire build sits low and wide, and a stand sized for a 29er puts it at an angle that works against you. If that is your bike, see our fat-tire picks for the frames involved and buy a stand specified for 20 in wheels.

Using a kickstand as a work stand. It is a prop, not a lift, and an e-bike dropped off a kickstand lands on a derailleur, a display or a motor cable.

What we would actually buy

For a 40 mm rear-mount frame: the RBRL E-Bike Kickstand.It is the only stand here that publishes the two numbers that matter together — a 1.57 in (40 mm) two-hole chainstay mount and a 187 lb load capacity — and 187 lb is roughly two and a half times the heaviest two-wheel bike in our registry. Aluminum, height adjustable, 26-29 in wheels.

For an 18 mm frame: the Sataway rear mount. Same job, same adjustability, and it is the only listing in this whole category that puts its required hole spacing in the product name. It publishes no load figure, which is the price of being the stand that fits.

For a center-mount frame: the BV.The one established brand here, adjustable and foldable for 24-28 in wheels — and read the 77 lb support figure against your own bike’s published weight before you order, because on a 72 or 75 lb bike there is almost nothing left over.

If you want the bike standing straight up: the Lumintrail double leg. Two legs, adjustable height, 24-29 in. It is the one that makes loading a pannier a one-handed job, and it publishes no capacity at all, so keep the loading sensible.

A kickstand is one of the cheapest parts on the bike and it prevents a dropped bike, and a dropped e-bike is a cracked display, a bent rotor or, at worst, a physically damaged battery pack — which the CPSC lists among the things that make a lithium pack unsafe. That is the actual argument for spending more than the minimum here. For the rest of the first-week shopping list, see our e-bike accessory picks.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best kickstand for an e-bike?

For a rear-mount frame drilled at 40 mm, the RBRL E-Bike Kickstand — it publishes both the mount spec (two holes, 1.57 in / 40 mm apart) and a 187 lb load capacity, which is the only combination on this page with real margin over a value e-bike's weight. For an 18 mm frame, the Sataway rear mount, which states that spacing in its listing name. For a center-plate frame, the BV. There is no single best answer because fitment, not quality, decides which stands you can physically bolt on.

How do I know which kickstand fits my e-bike?

Measure the two bolt holes on the kickstand plate, center to center. On a value e-bike that figure is almost always 18 mm or 40 mm (1.57 in), and the stand must match it — the wrong spacing cannot be fitted. Also check whether your plate is on the left chainstay behind the bottom bracket (rear mount) or directly under the bottom bracket (center mount), and read your wheel size off the tire sidewall, because every stand publishes a wheel range that sets its length.

Can I use a regular bicycle kickstand on an electric bike?

Sometimes it bolts on, and it is usually the wrong choice. A value e-bike is 50 to 75 lb with a heavy battery high in the frame, so the center of gravity is higher and the loads are larger than a bicycle stand was designed around. The common failures are the foot sinking into gravel, grass or soft asphalt, and a stand that is slightly too long holding the bike nearly vertical until something nudges it past the balance point. Buy a stand that publishes a load capacity and an adjustable length.

How much weight should an e-bike kickstand hold?

Start from your bike's published weight and leave real margin for cargo. Across our registry, published two-wheel e-bike weights run from 49.6 lb to 75 lb, with trikes at 93 to 110.2 lb. A stand rated 77 lb has essentially no margin on a 72 or 75 lb bike once a loaded pannier goes on; the 187 lb figure on the RBRL does. Be aware that no listing we read cites a test standard, or says whether the figure means bike weight or static load on the leg — so treat all of them as indicative.

Rear mount or center mount kickstand for an e-bike?

Your frame decides. A rear side mount bolts to a tab on the left chainstay and is what most value e-bikes come with — light, out of the way of the cranks, and clear of a chainstay-routed motor cable. A center mount clamps under the bottom bracket and can give a more stable lean, but needs that plate to exist and can foul the cranks or a mid-drive motor. Check which plate your bike has before shopping; a stand for the other kind has nowhere to bolt.

Will a double-leg kickstand hold my e-bike upright?

That is what it is for, and on many frames it also lifts the rear wheel clear of the ground, which makes cleaning a chain or fitting a rack far easier. The trade-offs are weight on a bike that is already heavy, reduced crank clearance, and — on the Lumintrail here — no published load capacity. If your main goal is working on the bike rather than parking it, a proper repair stand is the better purchase.

Sources

Keep reading